Various ‎– Bullshit Detector

Crass Records ‎– 421984/4
Vinyl, LP, 45 RPM, Compilation, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Andy T Jazz On A Summers Day
A2 Counter Attack Don't Wanna Fight For You
Bass Guitar – Kraig (3)Drums – John (80)Guitar – Geoff (7), Rich (41)Guitar, Vocals – Steve (116)
A3 The Alternative* Change It
Bass – Wilf SurmanDrums – James Murphy (10)Guitar – Rodney ComrieLead Vocals – Craig NicholVocals, Words By [Statements] – Eric Beveridge
A4 Clockwork Criminals We Are You
Bass – William (De Beurgorette) O'NeillDrums – Brian SpiersGuitar – Alex BentonVocals – Charlie Turner (4)
A5 Reputations In Jeopardy Girls Love Popstars
Bass – Chris W.Drums – Pete (82)Guitar – Chris The JoinerVoice, Voice [Dub] – Andy.T.*
A6 Crass Do They Owe Us A Living
A7 Amebix University Challenged
Bass – Ric GadsbyDrums – Billy JugLead Guitar – Chris Miller (8)Vocals – Rob Miller (10)
A8 Sceptics Local Chaos
Bass – Andy*Drums – Ferret (4)Guitar – Joe*Vocals – Jon*
A9 The Sinyx Mark Of The Beast
Bass – Auntie (2)Drums – VintsGuitar – Paul Q*Vocals – Alien (19)
A10 Frenzy Battalion Thalidomide
Bass – Steve Hewitt (3)Drums – Daz Kelly*Guitar – Marki SavVoice – Gary McGhee
A11 Icon* Cancer
Bass – P. Smith*Drums – M. Holmes*Guitar – C#*Vocals – Dicky*
A12 The Speakers Why
Bass – John GuiverDrums – Alan White (8)Guitar – Colin Smith (7)Vocals – Kevin Austen
A13 A.P.F. Brigade Anarchist Attack
Performer – Andy Export*, Jonathan Hindle
B1 Fuck The C.I.A. Right Or Wrong
Trumpet [Tuning Pipes] – Andy. T.*Voice – Jem.T.
B2 Caine Mutiny And The Kallisti Apples Of Nonsense Morning Star
Performer – Andy*, Ian*, Tommy*Vocals – Allan 'Caine' McLaughlin
B3 The Sucks '3'
Bass – V. FritzDrums – N. PointonGuitar – N. BrewinVocals – S. Smith (12)
B4 Porno Squad Khaki Doesn't Go With My Eyes
Performer – J. Norris*, N. Badger*, N.Uff*, T. Brown*
B5 S.P.G. Murders Soldiers
Bass – Richard Martin (13)Drums – Cee NicholsonGuitar – Paul FurrVocals – Steve Cooper (7)
B6 Eratics* National Service
Bass, Vocals – StringyDrums – Bondage (3)Guitar – Snout (3)
B7 Red Alert (8) Who Needs Society
Bass – Si(co)*Drums – BusbyGuitar – Mike*Vocals – John (100)
B8 The Snipers War Song
Bass – Whacker*Drums – Mark*Guitar, Vocals – Bungi*Vocals – Russ*
B9 Armchair Power Power
Bass – Andy (37)Guitar – Dave (144)Vocals – Paul (34)
B10 Disrupters Napalm
Bass, Backing Vocals – Dave*Drums – Kev*Guitar – GibbonVocals – Steve*
B11 Andy T Nagasaki Mon Amour
B12 Action Frogs Drumming Up Hope (Ferret Skank)
Drums – Cozy SlippersGuitar – Flo (27)

Companies, etc.



——Sleeve info——
Pay No More Than £1.35.
crass records.c/o.rough trade, 202 kensington park road,london w11.

All the tracks were recorded at various times and numerous places around britain. Engineered at Southern Studios.London.on 19th July 1980. Artwork by the bands.
Thanks to everyone concerned and all the bands who sent in tapes who don't appear.
The vinyl sits in a foldout poster-sleeve of 35"x24", containing a collage of info, lyrics and artwork from the various tracks.

——Extra info——
First in a series of compilations highlighting demo tracks sent to Crass by a variety of bands.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 421984/4 A-2 MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 421984/4 B-2 MPO

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



July 3, 2018
Various - 'Bullshit Detector Volume #1' (Crass Records, 1980). Without doubt the greatest expression of the DIY punk aesthetic ever pressed on vinyl. A clarion call to many dispossessed youth to express themselves musically as well as a media for spreading ideas throughout a community which may otherwise have remained geographically and culturally isolated from all the other like minds forming bands and starting 'zines across the land. At a time when most of the established punk bands had polished their sound and were gracing the TOTP studio this galvanised and gave ideological cohesion to the emerging, embryonic scene that became later known as 'anarcho-punk'. It is a record which remains even today unduly underestimated and maligned for its 'quality', which, of course, wasn't the point of the release at all. Stand-out tracks for me have always been the gratingly atonal Snipers 'War Song', the discordant lo-fi dementia (with what genuinely sounds like buckets and dustbin lids for drums!) of The Sucks ‘3’ and the primal pogo of Counter Attack’s ‘Don’t wanna fight for you’ . Bullshit Detector #1 stands as the first ‘punk’ record that irrefutably proved the ethos that ‘anyone’ really could DO IT, be on record and have their voice heard; even if that voice sounded like it was recorded down a phone and was accompanied by a toy guitar.