Various ‎– Cause & Effect Vol. 1

Joyful Noise Recordings ‎– JNR113
3 × Vinyl, 7", Limited Edition, Numbered, Black/Clear Split

Tracklist Hide Credits

1: Lou Barlow & Dumb Numbers
A Lou Barlow Crack And Emerge
B Dumb Numbers Last Night I Had A Dream
Bass – Lou BarlowDrums – Murph (2)Guitar, Vocals – Adam HardingVocals [End Vocals] – C.R. Matheny
2: Thurston Moore & Talk Normal
C Thurston Moore Gleo
Drums – John MoloneyGuitar – Thurston Moore
D Talk Normal Shot This Time
Performer – Andrya Ambro, Sarah Register
3: David Yow & Child Bite
E David Yow Thee Itch
Written-By – David Yow
F Child Bite Abysmal Splatter
Bass – Sean ClancyDrums – Ben Moore (7)Guitar – Brandon SczomakVocals, Guitar, Sampler – Shawn Knight



A somewhat conceptual release, 'Cause & Effect' features three separate split 7" records, which each adhere to an overarching theme: an infuential, historically-significant solo musician on side A, and the modern result of that musical influence on side B.

The first of an annual volume, 'Cause & Effect Vol. 1' features recordings from Lou Barlow (Sebadoh, Dinosaur Jr, Folk Implosion), Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth), and David Yow (The Jesus Lizard), coupled with the current, fully-formed musical projects Dumb Numbers, Talk Normal, and Child Bite. Each side B track corresponds to the musical trajectory set in motion by the former. Cause (side A) and Effect (side B).

All three 7"s are sold together in one super elaborate package (embossed cardboard sleeve), featuring new amazing artwork (and sketches of each band) by Shawn K Knight.

This release is strictly limited to 2000 hand-numbered copies on split color vinyl. The first 300 copies are pressed on silver/clear split color vinyl, and are available exclusively to VIP label members. The remaining copies (#'s 301-2000) are pressed on black/clear split color vinyl (this release).

Track A recorded in a 'Serviced Apartment,' St. Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Track B from the album 'Dumb Numbers'.
Track C recorded live, on tour in Philadelphia, PA, December 2012.
Track D from the album 'Sunshine'.
Track E from the album 'Tonight You Look Like A Spider'.
Track F from the album 'Vision Crimes / Monomania'.

MP3 download code is included within the package.

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All