Various ‎– Collection Of Lawrence Gellert Negro Songs Of Protest

Timely Records ‎– TI - 112
Vinyl, 12", Misprint, Unofficial Release


A1 Cold Iron Shackles
A2 Two Hoboes
A3 Negro Got No Justice
A4 Every Mail Day
A5 Mister Tyree
A6 Rocky Bottom
A7 Come Get Your Money
A8 Joe Brown's Coal Mine
A9 You Ask For Breakfast
B1 Well On Monday
B2 There Ain't No Heaven
B3 Atlanta, GA
B4 Cap'n Got A Lueger
B5 When That Evenin' Sun Go Down
B6 Give Me Fifteen Minutes Calls It Noon
B7 Lawdy Mamie
B8 Cap'n Get Him Pistol
B9 Tell Me Cap'n What Is On Your Mind



Collection of Lawrence Gellert Negro Songs of Protest. Chain Gangs - North & South Carolina And Georgia 1933/1937. Timely Records, NY, TI-112, 1971. No covers were printed and it came with a 1 page insert. My copy also came with a letter from Lawrence Gellert to the original person he sent it to. All songs were recorded by Lawrence Gellert.

Not a whole lot of information is out there on Lawrence Gellert. There is even less information on this record itself and the artists are unknown. According to the cover notes on the later issued Rounder Records - Negro Songs of Protest, only 40 pressings where made but according to Dick Weissman's book, Which Side Are You On?, there were only 100 copies pressed. They were apparently circulated out of his apartment in NYC to people who heard of it by word of mouth.

What I can tell from my copy is that the tracklistings for the center label and the insert have been misprinted. They don't match up with each other and with the actual tracks on the lp itself. I have listed the correct titles on the tracklisting for this database.

More information is still needed for this record.