Various ‎– Community 2: A NewOrderOnline Tribute

Retroforward ‎– RETRO-03
CD, Album, Enhanced

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 David Potts The Village
Instruments – David PottsVocals – David Potts
2 Tin God Your Silent Face
Instruments – Fernando BrittoVocals – Fernando Britto
3 Yokohama Crépuscule Run
Instruments – Yozo IdoVocals – Kana "Chantal" Hirai
4 C Bentley ICB
Instruments – C BentleyVocals – C Bentley
5 Sunrise Before Dawn Ruined In A Day
Instruments – Tracey DiLascioMixed By – C BentleyProducer – C BentleyVocals – Tracey DiLascio
6 3V (3) Blue Monday
Instruments – 3V (3)Vocals – 3V (3)
7 Phantom West Doubts Even Here
Instruments – Timothy A. ClarkVocals – Timothy A. Clark
8 Labster Behind Closed Doors
Instruments – Ioannis Doskoris*Vocals – Sandra Triantafyllou*, Ioannis Doskoris*
9 Glasnost Turn
Bass – Alejo ParellaDrum Programming – Alejo ParellaGuitar – Alejo ParellaKeyboards – Alejo ParellaMixed By – C BentleyVocals – Sophia Doskori
10 Popvert Subculture
Bass – PepvertDrums – Brendan BuckleyGuitar – PepvertKeyboards – Albert Sterling, PepvertMixed By – PepvertProducer – PepvertProgrammed By – PepvertRecorded By – PepvertVocals – Jolie LindholmVocoder – Martin Chan
11 Serotonin T.O. No Love Lost
Bass – Vik DeonananGuitar – A. Carlen, Vik DeonananKeyboards – Vik DeonananMixed By – C BentleyProgrammed By – Vik DeonananVocals – Vik Deonanan
12 Almanso New Dawn Fades
Bass – Alejo ParellaDrum Programming – Alejo ParellaGuitar – Alejo ParellaKeyboards – Alejo ParellaMixed By – C BentleyTrombone – Luis Parella TerreilVocals – Alejo Parella
13 Tomihira Mr Disco
Instruments – Dean TomihiraVocals – Dean Tomihira
14 Kremlin Lonesome Tonight
Instruments – Andy McNallyVocals – Andy McNally
15 Generalized 1963
Instruments – Keenan SunVocals – Matt Swift (4)
16 o'Ou (2) Dream Attack
Engineer – Jouni Hillberg, Jukka HillbergGuitar – Markku NikkiläKeyboards – Jouni Hillberg, Jukka HillbergProgrammed By – Jouni Hillberg, Jukka HillbergVocals – Tese Törmi*
17 David Potts The Village (DJ Ionic Remix)
Instruments – David PottsRemix – Jukka HillbergVocals – David Potts
Video David Potts The Village
Film Director – François-Marc Loze

Companies, etc.



The Community 2 project started on January 1 2006 when the website announced that David Potts, one half of Monaco with New Order's Peter Hook decided to join the line-up as a guest artist covering the song "The Village" from New Order's 1983 album, Power, Corruption & Lies.

This time, the producers of the album decided to let the members pick 10 songs off the album and let New Order themselves pick their favorite 4 songs. Peter Hook of New Order did the selection for the band and he chose "No Love Lost", "Blue Monday", "ICB" and "Ruined In A Day". "ICB" and "Ruined In A Day" being selected as well by the members of, the producers did their own selection as their best tracks, and that gave a spot to Behind Closed Doors, Doubts Even Here and 1963 on the album.

The album is an enhanced CD, featuring the video of David Potts' cover of The Village, done by François-Marc Loze from France, who won the video competition. The album also feature the winner of the remix competition, DJ Ionic, who remixed The Village and was selected by David Potts himself. There was also a competition for the sleeve, and the liner notes were written by a long time Viking (New Order hardcore fans), Hugh "Shug" Sludden. Flash background music provided by Razed In A New Division Of Agony (Logan Edwards).

The idea of this 2nd edition of the project was to involved people that helped New Order in the years, so Howard Wakefield (of Saville Associates with Peter Saville) and Bill Holding (of Morph UK) gave their comments on the sleeves submitted in the sleeve competition, Michael Shamberg, who produced most of New Order's video gave his comments about the video competition, and David Potts also gave his own comments on all aspects of the competition. It was also a pleasure to have the band involved in the process as well, which is unique for a New Order tribute album.

106 covers were submitted, only 15 made it to the album, with artists from 8 different countries this time around.

This time, all bands could only submit one cover, and only one cover per song could enter the final round. The final round had 64 covers in it.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 06041 23552 6
  • Matrix / Runout: Nationwide CD 20-40372 [1]
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LM62