Various ‎– Cumbias Chichadélicas - Peruvian Psychedelic Chicha

Pharaway Sounds ‎– PHS029
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Los Orientales De Paramonga Lobos Al Escape
A2 Los Mirlos Cumbia De Los Pajaritos / La Danza De Los Mirlos
A3 Juaneco Y Su Combo Me Robaron Mi Runa Mula
A4 Los Pakines Ramo De Rosas
B1 Los Beta 5 El Bicho
B2 Los Orientales De Paramonga La Danza Del Mono
B3 Eusebio Y Su Banjo Mi Morena Rebelde
B4 Manzanita Y Su Conjunto Arre Caballito
C1 Los Rumbaney El Poncho
C2 Juaneco Y Su Combo Ya Se Ha Muerto Mi Abuelo
C3 Los Mirlos Sonido Amazónico
C4 Manzanita Y Su Conjunto Vírgenes Del Sol
D1 Sonido 2000 Monito Saltarin
D2 Juaneco Y Su Combo Volando
D3 Aniceto Y Sus Fabulosos Mi Gran Noche
D4 Los Invasores de Progreso Todos Juntos



Psychedelic Peruvian Cumbia and Chicha from the archives of the Infopesa label (1968- 1982).

Gatefold colour sleeve with detailed liner notes by Alberto Maraví (in English /Spanish) with an exclusive introduction by Alex Kapranos (Franz Ferdinand).
Rare photos from the Infopesa archive.

All tracks have been taken from the original master tapes.

First released in 1968 (B4, C4); 1969 (C1, D3); 1970 (A1); 1972 (A2, A4, B2); 1973 (B1, C3); 1974 (D2); 1977 (A3, D1); 1980 (C2); 1981 (B3); 1982 (D4)

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



March 2, 2018

This is a must-hear, especially if you liked what you heard in the "Roots of Chicha" compilation. However, unfortunately like the other compilation, it seems as though noise removal has been applied to some of the masters leading to digital artifacts (to my ears anyways), but on the bright side it's not quite as bad as the previously mentioned album. This compilation has significantly more instrumental recordings than the other one also, not that it effects the way I feel about this album, just something I felt was worth mentioning. Recommended!