Various ‎– Deep Concentration

OM Records ‎– OM 006 LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation



Subtitled "The Future of Experimental Hip Hop".

Gatefold sleeve features a timeline of influential DJs and musicians - from Kool Herc to Z-Trip - created by Dave Tompkins and Joseph Patel.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 600353950610
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A, etched): OM-006 LP A1 (T) 1224.1(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B, etched): OM-006 LP B1 (T) 1224.2(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side C, etched): OM-006 LP C1 (T) 1224.3(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side D, etched): OM-006 LP D1 (T) 1224.4(2)

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
OM 006 /, Di0772 Various Deep Concentration(CD, Comp + CD-ROM) OM Records, Distance OM 006 /, Di0772 US 1998 Sell This Version
OM 006 LP Various Deep Concentration(2xLP, Promo, W/Lbl) OM Records OM 006 LP US 1997 Sell This Version
4 OMW2 39506-2 01 Various Deep Concentration(CD, Comp) OM Records 4 OMW2 39506-2 01 US 1997 Sell This Version
OM 006 LP Various Deep Concentration(2xLP, Comp, TP) OM Records OM 006 LP US 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 21, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
A watershed album that really put turtablism on the map for many of us, it also merged the burgoing ambient and downtempo movements, along with the rare groove and funk movement, and merged it all with the already thriving hip hop vinyl dj movement, not to mention also with the wierded out electronic cats that were into tripped out dub and space shit, I heard this record and got it in 97 immediately after someone played it of all places at an all raw food experimental restaurant in San Francisco from some weird crustry-type hippie raver at the establishment, for me at the time it seemed quite a revolutionary step for all these lil subgenres to sorta start cohabitating .


April 20, 2008

A 5 star turntablist album, on par with Bomb Hip Hop's 'Return Of The DJ' series. From the get go Cut Chemist's 'Lesson 6' is the best Lesson track since Double Dee & Stienski's 'Lesson 1', Prince Paul rocks like you would'nt expect & I believe Radar's 'Radar Frees Tibet' is the first pressing of his now famous delay loop pedal technique. The stand out for me is The Angel's 'Strange Times', down tempo & ambient, a wonderful song & not usually my type of thing, I tend to like my shit a little more hard hittin' but this is a beautiful composition. I won't go on & analize every track but what needs special attention is the only MC track on the compilation and that is Lyrics Born & Lateef The Truthspeaker (aka Latyrx)'Say That', A Gem.