Various ‎– Electric Muse: The Story Of Folk Into Rock

Transatlantic Records ‎– FOLK 1001, Island Records ‎– FOLK 1001
4 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation, Red Text
Box Set

Tracklist Hide Credits

From The Acoustic Roots
Introductory Medley
A1a Steeleye Span Robbery With Violins
Arranged By – Prior*, Hart*, Johnson*, Kemp*, Knight*Producer – Steeleye Span, Jerry BoysWritten-By – Trad.*
A1b Ian Campbell Folk Group* Tail Toddle (Extract)
Arranged By – Campbell*Written-By – Trad.*
A1c Fairport Convention Sir B. McKenzie (Extract)
Producer – John Wood, Trevor LucasWritten-By – Swarbrick*, Mattacks*, Thompson*, Nicol*
A2 Leadbelly The Gallows Pole
Producer – Moses / Asch*Written-By – Leadbelly
A3 Jack Elliot* Pretty Boy Floyd
Written-By – Woody Guthrie
A4 Margaret Barry She Moves Through The Fair
Written-By – Hughes*, Colum*
A5 Alan Lomax And The Ramblers (2) Hard Case
Written-By – MacColl*
A6 The Coppers* The Banks Of Sweet Primroses
Producer – Seumas InnisWritten-By – Trad.*
A7 Archie Fisher And Ray Fisher The Twa Corbies
Written-By – Trad.*
A8 A.L. Lloyd* The Shoals Of Herring (Extract)
Arranged By – Peggy SeegerWritten-By – MacColl*
From Reeling To Rockin
B1 Ian Campbell Folk Group* Rocky Road To Dublin / Drops Of Brandy
Arranged By – Campbell*Producer – Nathan JosephWritten-By – Trad.*
B2 The Dubliners The Mason's Apron
Arranged By – The DublinersProducer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Trad.*
B3 The Chieftains Carolan's Concerto
Arranged By – Moloney*Producer – I. Allen*, P. Moloney*Written-By – Trad.*
B4 Gryphon Kemp's Jig
Arranged By – GryphonProducer – Laurence AstonWritten-By – Trad.*
B5 Fairport Convention Medley: The Lark In The Morning / Rakish Paddy / Foxhunter's Jig / Toss The Feathers
Arranged By – Hutchings*, Mattacks*, Swarbrick*, Thompson*Producer – Joe BoydWritten-By – Trad.*
B6 Morris On Band* Greensleeves
Arranged By – Hutchings*, Dransfield*, Mattacks*, Kirkpatrick*, Thompson*Producer – John WoodWritten-By – Trad.*
B7 Hedgehog Pie Drops Of Brandy
Arranged By – Hedgehog PieProducer – G. Heslop*, R. Kemp*Written-By – Trad.*
B8 John Martyn Eibhlí Ghail Chiúin Ni Chearbhaill
Arranged By – J. Martyn*Producer – John MartynWritten-By – Trad.*
Blues Baroque And Beyond
C1 Davey Graham* Angi
Written-By – Davey Graham*
C2 Davey Graham* She Moves Through The Fair
Arranged By – Davey Graham*Producer – Hugh MendlWritten-By – Trad.*
C3 Davey Graham* Better Git It In Your Soul
Producer – Ray HorricksWritten-By – Mingus*
C4 Bert Jansch Veronica
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Bert Jansch
C5 John Renbourn Waltz
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – John Renbourn
C6 Ralph McTell Willoughby's Farm
Producer – Gus DudgeonWritten-By – Ralph McTell
C7 Marc Brierley Dragonfly
Producer – Nathan JosephWritten-By – Marc Brierley
C8 Jackson C. Frank Blues Run The Game
Producer – Paul SimonWritten-By – Jackson C. Frank
C9 Roy Harper Forever
Producer – Peter Richard (2)Written-By – Roy Harper
Soho Needless To Say
D1 Pentangle Waltz
Producer – Shel TalmyWritten-By – Jansch*, Thompson*, McShee*, Renbourn*, Cox*
D2 Martin Carthy Scarborough Fair
Arranged By – Martin CarthyWritten-By – Trad.*
D3 Al Stewart Soho, Needless To Say
Arranged By [Strings and Brass] – R. Hewson*Producer – John AnthonyWritten-By – A. Stewart*
D4 John & Beverley Martyn John The Baptist
Producer – Joe BoydWritten-By – J. Martyn*
D5 New Humblebums* Please Sing A Song For Us
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Rafferty*
D6 Fairport Convention Chelsea Morning
Producer – Joe Boyd, Tod LloydWritten-By – J. Mitchell*
Roll Over Cecil (And Tell Vaughan Williams The News)
E1 Shirley Collins, Davey Graham* Pretty Saro
Arranged By – Collins*Producer – Ray HorricksWritten-By – Trad.*
E2 Bert Jansch Blackwaterside
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Jansch*
E3 The Young Tradition Lyke-Wake Dirge
Arranged By – Wood*, Bellamy*, Wood*Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Trad.*
E4 John Renbourn Bransle Gay
Written-By, Producer – J. Renbourn*
E5 Martin Carthy, Dave Swarbrick* Our Captain Cried All Hands
Arranged By – M. Carthy, D. Swarbrick*
E6 Pentangle Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
Producer – Shel TalmyWritten-By – Jansch*, Thompson*, McShee*, Renbourn*, Cox*
E7 Shirley Collins The Wedding Song
Arranged By – Shirley & Dolly CollinsProducer – A. J. Marshall*Written-By – Trad.*
The Electric Adventure
F1 Fairport Convention Nottamun Town
Arranged By – Hutchings*, Matthews*, Lamble*, Thompson*, Denny*, Nicol*Producer – Joe BoydWritten-By – Trad.*
F2 Fairport Convention Tam Lin
Arranged By – D. Swarbrick*Producer – Joe BoydWritten-By – Trad.*
F3 Traffic John Barleycorn
Arranged By – S. Winwood*Producer – C. Blackwell*, S. Winwood*Written-By – Trad.*
F4 Fairport Convention Lord Marlborough
Arranged By – Mattacks*, Pegg*, Swarbrick*, Nicol*Producer – Fairport Convention, John WoodWritten-By – Trad.*
F5 Steeleye Span The Weaver And The Factory Maid
Arranged By – Johnson*, Prior*, Knight*, Kemp*, Hart*Producer – Jerry Boys, Steeleye SpanWritten-By – Trad.*
A New Tradition
G1 Bob Pegg And Carole Pegg Rise Up Jock
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Bob Pegg, Carole Pegg
G2 Mr. Fox (2) The Gay Goshawk
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – C. Pegg*
G3 Fairport Convention Poor Will And The Jolly Hangman
Producer – Joe BoydWritten-By – D. Swarbrick*, R. Thompson*
G4 Lindisfarne Turn A Deaf Ear
Producer – John AnthonyWritten-By – R. Noakes*
G5 Jack The Lad The Third Millennium
Producer – Hugh MurphyWritten-By – S. Cowe*
G6 Richard Thompson Nobody's Wedding
Producer – John Wood, Richard ThompsonWritten-By – R. Thompson*
End Of A Honeymoon?
H1 The Albion Country Band Albion Sunrise
Producer – John WoodWritten-By – R. Thompson*
H2 Albion Morris* Upton Stick Dance
Arranged By – A. Hutchings*, J. Watcham*Producer – Ashley HutchingsWritten-By – Trad.*
H3 Fairport Convention Furs And Feathers
Producer – Trevor LucasWritten-By – D. Swarbrick*
H4 Steve Ashley The Spirit Of Christmas
Producer – Austin John MarshallWritten-By – S. Ashley*
H5 Mike* And Lal Waterson The Magical Man
Producer – Bill LeaderWritten-By – Collins*, Waterson*, Waterson*
H6 Fairport Convention Stranger To Himself
Producer – Glyn JohnsWritten-By – S. Denny*
H7 The Albion Country Band The New St. George / La Rotta
Arranged By – The Albion Country BandProducer – John WoodWritten-By – R. Thompson*, Trad.*

Companies, etc.



Printed inner sleeves in colour with cover pictures numbered "Album I" to "Album IV" and track list for each record.
Also features a 20-page LP-sized booklet reproducing the above, in B&W, with song by song annotations by Karl Dallas plus an introduction and post-script.

Track G5 is misspelt "The Third Millenium" on release.

"FOLK 1001" text on back of box is in red rather than white (as per Various - Electric Muse: The Story Of Folk Into Rock) or yellow (as per Various - Electric Muse: The Story Of Folk Into Rock).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side A runout stamped): FLK.1.A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side B runout stamped): FLK.1.B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side C runout stamped): FLK.2.A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side D runout stamped): FLK.2.B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side E runout stamped): FLK.3.A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side F runout stamped): FLK.3.B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side G runout stamped): FLK.4.A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side H runout stamped): FLK.4.B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side A runout stamped): FLK·1·A1 B 7
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side B runout stamped): FLK·1·B1 B 6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side C runout stamped): FLK·2·A1 B 8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side D runout stamped): FLK·2·B1 A 6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side E runout stamped): FLK·3·A1 B 6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side F runout stamped): FLK·3·B1 B 4
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side G runout stamped): FLK·4·A1 C 14
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side H runout stamped): FLK·4·B1 A 7

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All