Various ‎– Fabrique

Room40 ‎– EDRM420
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 David Grubbs Blessed Are The Task Masters
Electric Guitar, Synthesizer – DG*
2 Chris Abrahams Leiden 5:30
3 Fourcolor Familiar
Composed By – Keiichi SugimotoVoice – Moskitoo
4 Pimmon Chirippk 4:12
5 Keith Fullerton Whitman Live At Fabrique 4:55
6 Janek Schaefer Fields Of The Missed 7:00
7 Andrew Pekler Dust Enforcer 3:38
8 Ulrich Krieger Black Forest Dreaming 4:45
9 Scanner Thrown Together Like Leaves (Live At Fabrique 2002)
Written-By, Performer – Robin Rimbaud
10 DJ Olive Meets I/O3 Then We Exhaled
Mixed By – John Chantler
11 John Chantler A Short Thesis 4:56
12 Greg Davis True Gateway
Gong, Computer – Greg Davis
13 Camilla Hannan Forest (Edit) 6:24
14 Robert Henke Hommage_17 1:12
15 KKNull* (Synchroflash)
Composed By, Producer – Kazuyuki Kishino
16 Leighton Craig San Souci 3:37
17 Seaworthy Points North And East 4:28
18 Tujiko Noriko Magic (Live At Fabrique) 4:34



In 2001, on a rainy November Sunday afternoon, a performance took place on the Brisbane Powerhouse Turbine Platform. It was a crowded affair, some 600 people turning out for DJ Olive Meets I/O3, a performance since released as 'Powerhouse Sessions' (EDRM400). Whilst the actual shape of the series was yet to take form, this event was the genesis for a series of events curated by Lawrence English.

Titled Fabrique, the series ran for eight years and produced 40 events - each celebrating the full breadth of electronic and avant musics. Fabrique presented artists from Japan, Spain, Slovenia, USA, UK, Belgium, Germany, France, Austria, Italy, Denmark, New Zealand and Australia amongst others. The event prided itself on creating networks between Australian and international artists all of whom shared an interest in testing for the very edges of contemporary sound in performance. During its eight years, Fabrique co-presented events with festivals and performance series including Liquid Architecture, Phonoscape, Open Frame, What Is Music?, Impermanent Audio, Puls8 and Sound Polaroids.

Special thanks - Andrew Ross, Sarah Neal, Luke Harriman, Bella Sithorp, Rebecca English, Dan Lewis, Steve Alexander, John Chantler, all the technical, promotional and admin staff at Brisbane Powerhouse for their tireless efforts, to all the artists who performed, the audiences who listened and to Zane Trow for starting the ball rolling.

Room40 wishes to acknowledge the outstanding support of Brisbane Powerhouse in the production of Fabrique.

Track 1 recorded Dec. 18, 2008 at Black Faurest, Brooklyn.
Track 5 recorded April 22nd, 2006 & reworked 12/08
Track 10 recorded live at Fabrique soundcheck 2005
Track 11 recorded in London, May 2004
Track 16 recorded at the Kindling House 31.12.08