Various ‎– Five Days Married & Other Laments: Song And Dance From Northern Greece, 1928-1958

Angry Mom Archives ‎– AMA 03
CD, Compilation


A1 Elias Litos*, Lazaros Rouvas* Skaros (Sheperd's Song)
A2 Halkias Brothers Folk Orchestra Pente Meres Pantremeni (Five Days Married)
A3 Kitsos Harisiadis* Stroto Pogonisio (Smooth Dance From Pogoni)
A4 Halkias Brothers Folk Orchestra Kyragiorgena (Missus George-Wife)
A5 Group From Northern Epirus Stis Deropolis Ton Kambo (On The Deropolis Plain)
A6 Nick Halkias* Mperati Pogonisio (Berat From Pogoni)
A7 Kitsos Harisiadis* Mirologi Arvantico (Albanian Lament)
B1 Kitsos Harisiadis* Skaros (Sheperd's Song)
B2 Five Gliniotes E Vlaha (A Vlach Girl Washing By The River)
B3 Manthos Halkias & Folk Orchestra Samantakas (Samantakas)
B4 Polyxeni* And Kalliopi Litou* Mia Omorfi Gitonopula (Next-Door Beauty)
B5 Nick Tzaras*, Sideris Andrianos Kalokeraki (Summer)
B6 Trio Tsitsomitsos Para Mikri S’Agapisa (Too Young Were You When I Love You)
B7 Manthos Halkias & Folk Orchestra Merko Mirologi (A Lament For More Time)



Featuring sublime and unhinged music rarely heard outside of Northern Greece and Southern Albania, the performances presented in this collection span the range of plaintive, ancient dirges to hypnotic, droning dance pieces. The style, repertoire, and songs from this isolated region are unearthly in their euphonic appeal. Most of the music on this CD has not been issued since they were originally pressed on 78 rpm disc. A deep set of notes in a 12-page booklet is accompanied by comprehensive lyrical translations as well as original artwork by R. Crumb. This CD version includes as bonus tracks all four sides recorded in 1933 by the mysterious and archaic M. Harisis Epirotic Group. Respectfully crafted by Christopher King and Susan Archie for Angry Mom Records. Original artwork by Robert Crumb.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 1695 07502 5