Various ‎– Gruesome Stains (A Workers Playtime Compilation)

Workers Playtime ‎– PLAY LP 3
Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Flexi-disc, 45 RPM, Single Sided

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Dan (13) Shake Your Foundations
Bass – Ian ArmstrongDrums – Jim*Engineer [Superintendant] – Guy HattonGuitar – Wal*Voice – Jools*Written-By – Armstrong*, Wallis*, Clarke*, Dalkin*
A2 Gold Frankincense + Disk Drive* S.L.U.G.
Bass Guitar – Louie HoughtonDrums [A Cameo Appearence Only] – Matthew Cokman*Guitar, Keyboards, Programmed By [Computer Programs] – Guy Halton*Guitar, Keyboards, Voice, Programmed By [Computer Programs] – Andy TillisonIllustration [Cartoon] – John HyattWritten-By – Tillison*, Hatton*, Houghton*, Coleman (2)*Written-By, Performer, Engineer, Producer – Disk Drive
A3 Bad Beach Beach Patrol
Artwork, Layout [& Lettering, Yawn] – Maj*Bass – Sonia*Drums – Gigs (2)Engineer – Tim Ellis (2)Guitar – Maj*Photography By [Pete] – Nick Smith (33)Producer – Bad BeachVocals – Pete Jones*Written-By – Jee*, McGivern*, Jones*, Kwasnk*
A4 Well Phead Pop Song
Bass [Uncredited] – John Roberts (12)Drums [Uncredited] – Paul AyrissGuitar [Uncredited] – Richard "Titch" PorterVocals [Uncredited] – Simon "Spaz" SparrowWritten-By – Roberts*, Ayris*, Porter*, Sparrow*
A5 Grateful Def Drug Squad
Co-producer – Christian LunchVocals [Rapper] – Orville Jackson, T.B.T. (2)Written-By – Ingle*
B1 Visions Of Change It'll Happen Again
Artwork, Layout – WraggyEngineer, Producer – Tim*Other [?!!] – Jo (75)Written-By – Murphy*, Barry*, Webb*, Murphy*, McGivern*
B2 Doctor And The Crippins* Death Squad
Written-By – Ellesmere*, Palmer*, Myall*, Elliot*
B3 Death By Milkfloat Wolf In Sheeps Clothing
Bass, Backing Vocals – Jonny DaweDrums – Steve Kelly (8)Guitar, Vocals – Phil DolbyProducer – D.B.M.*Written-By – Dawe*, Dolby*, Kelly*
B4 Jailcell Recipes Kick Yourself
Bass – Dave*Drums – Ian*Engineer – Paul BirchGuitar – Dom (4)Other [Video] – BazPhotography By [Stills] – Alan*Producer – Stiff NeckVocals – Robbie*Written-By – Murphy*, Reid*
B5 The Joyce McKinney Experience Profit Motif
Bass – Robbie*Drums – Gigs (2)Guitar – Charlie*Vocals – Sharon*, Yvonne*Written-By – Busby*, Murphy*, McGivern*, Robb*, McAvoy*
B6 Mute Drivers It's Not That Funny
Music By – Us*Producer – Mute Drivers, Paul KendallVocals [Rap] – Dave*Words By – Steve*Written-By – Rogers*, Wright*
C The Reverend Jimmy Creamjeens & The Sweetcorn Ministry Of Faith Too Drunk To Fuck
Written-By [Uncredited] – Jello Biafra

Companies, etc.


  • Design [Front & Rear Sleeve], Layout [Layouts And General 'Fills']John Yates
  • Lacquer Cut ByPorky (5)
  • Plated ByEW (2)


'This econo priced record comes with FREE flexi-disc. Make sure it's here.'
The LP issued in plain inner sleeve with loose flexi and 16-page 12'' newspaper, all housed in a clear plastic sleeve.
Newspaper with credits, lyrics, contacts, pictures and artwork.

Recording, engineering locations, etc:
- A1: '... was knocked out last October at 'Lion' multipurpose correctional facility and audio playground'
- A2: Lion Studios, Leeds, W. Yorkshire
- A3: engineered at Red Spot Studios. Sometime in March 1988
- B3: recorded at Animal Tracks, Hull. April 1988.
- B4: recorded at Sound Projects, Wigan on 26 March '88
- B5: recorded at Red Spot, Leam. Spa

© + ℗ 1988 Upright Records
Flexi: ©1988 Virgin Music - ℗ Workers Playtime
A2: © New Operation 1988
A3: Words, music, arts etc © Bad Beach 1988
A5: © Fishranch Music 1988
B2: © Qubic Music 1988
B6: © 1988 Irradiated

Made In England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code: LC 8357
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A): PLAYLP-3-A-1 EW A Porky Prime Cut.
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B): PLAY LP-3-B-1 EW Porky.
  • Other (Flexi-disc, sharp stamp - only upper half): APOLLO [?]



Add Review



April 2, 2013
who were these people? this version is inspired...