Various ‎– Heed The Call! (Whakarongo, Nga Tamariki)

Vostok (3) ‎– VOSTOK 02
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Dalvanius And The Fascinations* Voodoo Lady
Backing Vocals – Barletta Prime, Lori BalmersBass – Charley HikuroaDrums – Colin HenryGuitar – Ali MorganKeyboards – Philip WhitcherProducer, Engineer – Richard BatchensSaxophone – Harry Morgan (2)Trumpet – Mike BoothWritten-By, Vocals – Dalvanius Prime*
A2 Collision (12) You Can Dance
Arranged By – Collision (12)Keyboards – Philip WhitcherPercussion – Keith CaseyProducer, Engineer – Richard BatchensVocals [Additional] – Dalvanius & The FascinationsVocals, Bass – Charley HikuroaVocals, Saxophone – Harry Morgan (2)Vocals, Trumpet – Mike BoothWritten-By, Vocals, Guitar – Ali Morgan
A3 Mark Williams (4) Disco Lady
Bass – Dick DeGrayCongas, Vocals [Additional], Percussion – Dennis MasonDrums – John McGuire (8)Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Arranged By [Horns] – David Fraser*Engineer – Peter HitchcockEngineer, Remix – Michael Grafton-GreenGuitar – Bruce Robinson, John O'Connor (8)Producer, Remix – Alan GalbraithVocals – Mark Williams (4)Vocals [Additional], Percussion – Carl Evensen, Wayne MasonWritten-By – Brown*, Wilson*
A4 The Johnny Rocco Band* She's Knocking On My Door
Bass – Tim PartridgeEngineer – Wahanui "Wyn" Wynyard*Mixed By, Engineer – B. C. Brown*Percussion – Sunil De SilvaVibraphone, Drums, Written-By – Russ Dunlop*Vocals – Leo De CastroVocals, Guitar – Harris Campbell
B1 The 1860 Band That's The Kind Of Love I've Got For You
Drums, Percussion – Bill Brown (2)Guitar, Vocals – Rob WinchProducer – Terence O'Neill-JoyceTrombone – Rodger FoxTrumpet, Vocals – Geoff CulverwellWritten-By – D. Parks*, D. Fletcher*
B2 Inbetweens* Mr. Funky
Bass – Neville McCarthyDrums, Percussion – Dave Bailey (2)Producer – Phil Yule, Inbetweens*Saxophone – Colin Hemmingson*Synthesizer – Len WorthingtonVocals, Guitar – Tony RabbettWritten-By, Guitar – Chris McCarthy (3)
B3 Tina Cross You Can Do It
Bass – Rob WinchDrums – Kevin StrangeEngineer – Gerry Smith (2)Guitar – Martin WinchKeyboards, Arranged By, Conductor – Dave FraserPercussion – Dennis MasonProducer – Eric JohnsSaxophone – Colin Hemmingson*Vocals – Tina CrossWritten-By – B. Weisman*, E. Sands*, R. Germinaro*
B4 Golden Harvest I Need Your Love
Bass, Backing Vocals – Eru KaukauDrums, Percussion, Backing Vocals – Mervyn Kaukau*Engineer – Ian MorrisEngineer [Assistant] – Dennis OdlinGuitar – Kevin KaukauLead Vocals – Karl GordonProducer – Rob AickinWritten-By, Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals – Gavin Kaukau
C1 Mark Williams (4) A House For Sale
Producer – Alan GalbraithVocals – Mark Williams (4)Written-By – Hampton*, Banks*
C2 The Pink Family Don't Give Your Life Away
Bass – Paul WoolrightDrums – Jimmy Hill (3)Guitar – Peter Bayliss (4)Piano, Arranged By, Producer, Synthesizer – Peter Woods (5)Vocals – Adrianne Pink, Lawrie Pink, Pale Sauni, Ramon Pink, Sheldon Pink, Shona Sauni, Whena PinkWritten-By – Pale Sauni
C3 Prince Tui Teka Heed The Call
Backing Vocals – The Yandall SistersBass – Clint Brown*Drums – Keith Norris (2)Engineer – Frank DouglasGuitar – Bruce Robinson, Kevin BayleyPiano – Wayne MasonProducer – Terence O'Neill-JoyceVocals, Guitar – Prince Tui TekaWritten-By – Kin Vassy
C4 The Yandall Sisters Sweet Inspiration
Backing Vocals – Mary Yandall, Pauline YandallBass – Bob Jackson (3)Drums – Frank Gibson Jnr.*Guitar – Martin Winch, Tui TimotiLead Vocals – Adele YandallPiano – Julian LeeProducer – Alan GalbraithWritten-By – Lindon Oldham*, Wallace Pennington
C5 Sonia & Skee There's A River
Bass – Ben King (17), Tab PaengaDrums – Bernie AmedeeGuitar – Zac TeokaMusic Director – Alex C. WedntProducer – Vince PatrickVocals – Sonia & SkeeWritten-By – McDaniels*
D1 Ticket Mr. Music
Bass – Paul WoolrightDrums – Ricky BallGuitar – Eddie HansenProducer – Barry M. Coburn*Vocals – Trevor TomblesonWritten-By – E. Hansen*, P. Woolright*, Richard Ball*, Trevor Tombleson
D2 Larry Morris Who Do We Think We're Fooling
Bass – John Williams (17)Clavinet – Bob (Capt. Social) Smith*Drums – Jim Ford (7)Engineer, Co-producer – Doug JaneGuitar – Kipa RoyalWritten-By, Guitar, Arranged By – John KristianWritten-By, Vocals, Arranged By – Larry Morris
D3 Herb McQuay Night People
Engineer – Graeme MyhreProducer – Richard LushVocals, Written-By – Herb McQuay
D4 The Totals Total Man
Drums – Gene CrarerGuitar – Blake ThomsonProducer, Engineer – Ian Morris, Rob AickinWritten-By, Vocals, Keyboards – Murray Hancox

Companies, etc.



Sticker on cellophane:
"Whakarongo, Nga Tamariki
17 of the choicest Maori / Polynesian soul, funk & disco from Aotearoa between the afro-tastic years of 1973 to 1983. Sweet!"

A1 is the 12" mix. The CD version features the single edit.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 060446 121832
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): VOSTOK 02A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): VOSTOK 02B
  • Matrix / Runout (Label C): VOSTOK 02C
  • Matrix / Runout (Label D): VOSTOK 02D
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched A): VOSTOK 02 A MPO 1 IT'S PRIME TIME
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched B): VOSTOK 02 B 1 MPO CRAVING FOR THAT FUNKY BEAT 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched C): VOSTOK 02 C MPO RC MATT RATA?
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched D): VOSTOK 02 D MPO LEO DE CASTRO DELIVERED MY DAD!

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 13, 2018
Fantastic compilation and great package. Who knew so much great music came from New Zealand??!!


December 13, 2017
Fantastic release. All quality tunes. A very unique compilation amidst all the other funk/soul stuff out there. Great packaging and booklet as well. Must buy!