Various ‎– Hi Records: The Blues Sessions

Hi Records ‎– DHI UK LP 427
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Don Hines I'm So Glad 2:13
A2 Don Hines Baby Tell It Like It Is 2:04
A3 Don Hines Stormy Monday 2:59
A4 Don Hines Please Accept My Love 2:25
A5 Don Hines You Had To Pay 2:14
A6 Don Hines Trouble Is My Name 2:08
A7 Big Amos Patton He Won't Bite Me Twice 2:33
B1 Big Amos Patton Move With Me Baby 2:18
B2 Big Amos Patton Going To Vietnam 2:56
B3 Big Amos Patton I'm Gone 2:45
B4 Big Amos Patton Dog Man 2:08
B5 Big Amos Patton You're Too Young 2:27
B6 Big Lucky Carter Stop Arguing Over Me 2:21
B7 Big Lucky Carter Miss Betty Green 2:26
C1 Big Lucky Carter Goofer Dust 2:55
C2 Big Lucky Carter I've Been Hurt 2:26
C3 Big Lucky Carter Please Don't Leave 2:25
C4 Big Lucky Carter You'd Better Mind 2:23
C5 Joe Lee Carter Please Mr. Foreman 3:14
C6 Joe Lee Carter As The Years Go Passing By 2:52
C7 Joe Lee Carter I Can't Stand It 2:50
C8 Joe Lee Carter Let Me Know 2:38
D1 Don Bryant Don't Turn Your Back On Me 2:06
D2 Don Bryant The Call Of Distress 2:20
D3 Don Bryant Is That Asking Too Much 2:35
D4 Don Bryant There Is Something On Your Mind 2:21
D5 Willie Mitchell Prayer Meeting 2:12
D6 Gene Miller I Was Wrong 2:39
D7 Gene Miller What Do You Mean? 2:19
D8 George Jackson (3) Aretha, Sing One For Me 2:56



The correct title of this album is unclear: the front cover suggests it is "Hi Records: The Blues Sessions"; it is written that way on the spine; the back cover and labels just show "The Blues Sessions". As several Demon Records catalogues also show the title as "Hi Records: The Blues Sessions", that title has been used here.

"Note: certain tracks on this release have been dubbed from the best copies of the original discs available - resulting in a slight difference in sound quality."

Liner notes credit on inside sleeve reads "CE" (i.e. Colin Escott) with acknowledgements to Jeff Hannusch".

(P) & (C) Hi Recording Corporation

A Product of Cream Records Inc. Los Angeles.
Issued under license to: DEMON RECORDS Ltd. Brentford, Middlesex.

This U.K. pressing was also distributed in Australia by Another Record Distribution.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 014757 204272
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etched): A Porky prime cut
  • Matrix / Runout (Sides B and C runout etched): Porky