Various ‎– Little Creepy We Shine So Sleepy So Whoopee!

Acid Tapes ‎– TAB 021
Cassette, Compilation


A1 The Endorphins The Beat Goes On
A2 The Endorphins Atlantic City
A3 Fans Looking Glass World
A4 The Eyes Of Fate I've Been So Far Away
A5 Fit & Limo Sunday Morning
A6 Sleep Creature And The Vampires From Venus* Kicks
A7 Paul Roland Madelaine
B1 Sleep Creature And The Vampires From Venus* Action Woman
B2 Ochre 5 Girl On The M6
B3 The Green Telescope A Glimpse
B4 The Green Telescope Turnin' Out
B5 Tropicana Fishtank Umbrella Men
B6 Paul Roland Captain Blood
B7 The Mixers Pictures Of You
B8 Amoeba Pie Day On The Hill


"for alistair sim, arthur conan-doyle, billy casper and matthew. until we meet again..."


Add Review



October 11, 2014

The ENDORPHINS kick start this compilation with the rhythmic, pulsing "The Beat Goes On" followed by the New York flavoured pop/psyche of "Atlantic City. They are swiftly followed by "Looking Glass World" from the FANS with it's spidery guitar parts and gothic (Bauhaus) influenced vocals. All these tracks are exclusive to this release. Other exclusives include FIT AND LIMO's cover of "Sunday Morning", the Velvet Underground classic, which is well suited to the fragile female vocals and the sparse accompaniment of guitar, bass and tambourine (and a wonderfully strange keyboard solo). OCHRE 5 contribute another of their perky/quirky British powerpop songs and GREEN TELESCOPE (later to become The Thanes) clock in with two garage beat toons; the Elevator's sounding "A Glimpse" and the farfisa powered, R 'n' B power beat of "Turnin' Out" complete with snarling vocals. SLEEP CREATURES AND THE VAMPIRES FROM VENUS (who later decided they didn't come from Venus after all, perhaps because that's where The Cleaners came from) give us faithful renditions two classic psych covers (coincidentally covered later by Naz Nomad & the Night- mares), "Kicks" and Action Woman", from their deleted Acid Tapes release "A Trip In Time" (making these two tracks exclusives as well). TROPICANA FISHTANK's "Umbrella Men" would later turn up on their "Gentlemen...Raise Your Eyebrows" release (TAB 057); PAUL ROLAND's two songs are from his "House Of Dark Shadows" tape (TAB 020) mentioned earlier; "I've Been So Far Away" by THE EYES OF FATE comes from their TAB 037 release; THE MIXERS song is from their "Speed, Madness, Flying Saucers" release (TAB 019) and AMOEBA PIE's "Day On The Hill" is lifted from TAB 029, "Sand Betwixt Two Tides".