Various ‎– Lost In Translation (Music From The Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Emperor Norton ‎– 603497854400
Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Reissue, Violet

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 No Artist Intro / Tokyo
Sound Designer – Richard Beggs
A2 Kevin Shields City Girl
Drums, Engineer – Brian ReitzellEngineer – Bryan Mills, James Brown (2), Rob KirwanWritten-By, Producer, Engineer – Kevin Shields
A3 Brian Reitzell & Roger Joseph Manning Jr. Shibuya
Mixed By – Justin StanleySound Designer – Richard BeggsWritten-By, Producer – Brian Reitzell, Roger Joseph Manning Jr.
A4 Sebastien Tellier* Fantino
Written-By – Sebastien Tellier*
A5 Kevin Shields Goodbye
Engineer – Brian Reitzell, Bryan Mills, James Brown (2), Rob KirwanWritten-By, Producer, Engineer – Kevin Shields
A6 Death In Vegas Girls
Written-By – Richard Maguire, Tim Holmes
A7 Squarepusher Tommib
Written-By – Tom Jenkinson
A8 Phoenix Too Young
Written-By – Phoenix
B1 Happy End Kaze Wo Atsumete
Written-By – Haruomi Hosono, Takashi Matsumoto
B2 Brian Reitzell & Roger Joseph Manning Jr. On The Subway
Mixed By – Justin StanleyWritten-By, Producer – Brian Reitzell, Roger Joseph Manning Jr.
B3 Kevin Shields Ikebana
Engineer – Brian Reitzell, Bryan Mills, James Brown (2), Rob KirwanWritten-By, Producer, Engineer – Kevin Shields
B4 My Bloody Valentine Sometimes
Written-By – Kevin Shields
B5 AIR Alone In Kyoto
Written-By – Jean-Benoit Dunckel*, Nicolas Godin
B6 Kevin Shields Are You Awake?
Bass, Engineer – Bryan MillsDrums, Engineer – Brian ReitzellEngineer – James Brown (2), Rob KirwanWritten-By, Producer, Engineer – Kevin Shields
B7 The Jesus & Mary Chain* Just Like Honey
Written-By – James McLeish Reid*, William Reid

Companies, etc.



Record Store Day 2019 exclusive pressed on translucent violet vinyl.
Limited Edition of 8000 copies.

Mastered At DigiPrep is credited in liner notes. It refers to the original release from 2003 (DigiPrep changed its name in 2010).
Mastered At Capitol Mastering is stamped in runout and refers to mastering for vinyl for this release.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Texted): 6 0349785440 0
  • Barcode (Scanned): 603497854400
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A [Etched]): 603497854400 BI51497-01 A1 RRC1-317068-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B [Etched] '1' is mirrored): 603497854400 BI51497-01 B1 RRC1-317068-B +1 MBV∞
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B [Stamped]): MASTERED BY CAPITOL
  • Label Code (On labels): LC02982


Reviews Show All 146 Reviews

Add Review



September 19, 2020

paying more than 100 euros for this king of album is ridiculous. It will sureley be repressed and as a standard colored lp will be sold around 20 euros. During the rsd, i didn't buy it beacause it was sold around 30 euros, and 30 euros, it is too expensivefor this kind of low cost pressing.


February 7, 2020
As we near the one year mark since the Record Store Day reissue of this LP, I am very glad I purchased this record here on Discogs one week after it's official release date. I thought long and hard about spending €69 on it back then. I thought maybe it would eventually drop in price throughout the year. Boy am I glad I decided to just get it then. It rose to €100 by the third week and has stayed there to this day.


February 7, 2020
I look forward to the day when this is being sold for £12.99 on Amazon. Absolute state of these prices.


October 25, 2019

my copy is absolutely flawless and sounds amazing on my Quads.


September 27, 2019
edited 12 months ago

There are a few reasons why this sound track is valuable and/or beloved by many
- This soundtrack contains solo works by Kevin Shields, who is not extremely active, yes MBV had a run in 2007, 2013, and a tour last year, but MBV LP come out 2013 and while we have gotten a Loveless and Isn’t Anything reissue on vinyl, those had been in the works for years. With no real promise ever of getting anything from Shields (any Shields/MBV fan know to never expect anything in any timely manor), anything he does will get a lot of attention. Some would argue City Girl, while not touching anything on Loveless, is still more then just a one off, and another reason why even for 10 years plus only doing side gigs and remixes/recording, at any moment Kevin can write a great song that sounds like only he could write.
- I do believe (and someone please tell me if I’m wrong) this soundtrack is the first time legendary Japanese folk band Happy End had any music licensed in the US. Haruomi Hosono was in Happy End, who of course was in Yellow Magic Orchestra. YMO was extremely influential, as is Hosono's solo works, which are now seeing reissues outside of Japan. Due to Hosono’s connection to birthing City Pop (some would argue Happy End did as well as a few other artists), their inclusion in this soundtrack makes it more appealing, especially now.
- In general, this sound track is “acclaimed” critically, and to have some what of a major motion picture pull songs from Squarepusher, Jesus and Mary Chain, and of course, My Bloody Valentine, for at its time, and even today to an extent is something you rarely see
- But beyond everything else: people LOVE this movie. Some hate it, and I get that, some thing it’s overrated, and I get that too, but for many this is a movie people fall in love with. Be it the story, images, or even the music. A quick google search will show you how beloved this movie is. So those that do, tend to grab on to anything they can related to the movie, be it books, posters, or of course this soundtrack.
I love this film, so I have the OG soundtrack, along with this version as well (I had the bootleg picture disc but got rid of it long ago). While this pressing is far from perfect (that’s putting it lightly), there is good reason for better or worse why this pressing and any pressing of this soundtrack, including the even worse OG pressing, or color variant bootlegs, go for so much…many people have a personal connection to this movie and music. Those that do own any version won’t let it go. I only got rid of the picture disc because it was a bootleg, but I even still regret that. Of course, I’m with everyone – this should have been more widely available and just as much a better pressing where actual care went into it. I get the anger, trust me. I waited in line for it and was able to get a copy of the RSD release but it would have been heartbreaking if I wasn’t so lucky.Some flippers who know these reasons above gouged the price, thus flippers who just follow others did the same. It sucks, and I hope we see a wider release soon. But there are good reasons why this soundtrack is so wanted, does it justify the price? That’s for you to decide.


September 23, 2019
This soundtrack will be reissued one day, Warner seems to have the rights, so we can expect that however I really don't understand the buzz about this soundtrack and also the prices...
What going on regarding a reissue of Almost famous soundtrack too?


August 25, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
This is amazing .... cant believe the hype over this release , i sold this on for a small amount , hey people the movie is worth watching more
than the music . ,,,,,, true


August 18, 2019

The Warp really adds to the warmth of this record


August 5, 2019
I will take the middle ground and say that it sounds like a very solid pressing cut from digital. It's absolutely worth the 28 CAD I bought it for. I don't understand people shitting on the release, it was clearly a record made to retail at an affordable price point. The only reason for the price is because of the market and RSD bullshit, why review the pressing so badly?


July 21, 2019
I've really enjoyed listening to this tonight. Thank you. Just what Sunday evening's were made for.