Various ‎– Metal Massacre

Metalworks Records ‎– MBR 1001
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Black And Blue* Chains Around Heaven
Bass Guitar – Patrick YoungDrums – Pete HolmesEngineer – Mike Moore (2)Guitar – Jeff Warner, Tommy ThayerVocals – Jaime St. James
A2 Bitch (2) Live For The Whip
Bass – Richard ZusmanDrums – Robby SettlesEngineer – Joe BorjaGuitar – David CarruthLead Vocals – Betsy*
A3 Malice (2) Captive Of Light
Bass – Mark BehnDrums – Pete LaufmanEngineer – Bob Stoutenburg*Guitar – Jay Reynolds (2), Mick ZaneVocals – James Neal
A4 Ratt Tell The World
Bass Guitar, Vocals – Matt ThorneDrums – Khurt MaierEngineer – Dan TarshaLead Guitar, Vocals – Robbin Crosby, Warren DeMartiniLead Vocals – Stephen Pearcy
A5 Avatar (12) Octave
Bass – Diane KornarensDrums – Marc MorenoEngineer – Gary DulacGuitar – Anthony Kornarens, Darren Mann
B1 Cirith Ungol Death Of The Sun
Bass – Michael FlintDrums – Robert Garvin*Engineer – Tim NelsonGuitar – Jerry FogleVocals – Tim Baker (2)
B2 Demon Flight Dead Of The Night
Drums – Francis White (2)Engineer – Joe BorjaGuitar – H. Michael OsunaVocals, Bass – Rick Gerard
B3 Pandemonium (6) Fighting Backwards
Bass, Vocals – Eric ReschDrums – Kevin Fitzgerald (2)Lead Guitar – David ReschLead Vocals – Chris Resch
B4 Malice (2) Kick You Down 4:26
B5 Metallica Hit The Lights
Bass – Ron McGovneyDrums – Lars UlrichLead Guitar – Dave MustaineVocals, Rhythm Guitar – James Hetfield

Companies, etc.



The 2nd press has the silver front cover that just says Metal Massacre and the label is listed as metalworks records on the back, licensed from metal blade. The labels are a silver and black simple typeset like the first press. The Ratt and Black and Blue songs are included and the Steeler song is gone. There is also a canadian pressing that is the same as the 2nd pressing. "The New Heavy Metal Revue" was Brian Slagels', Metal Blades founders fanzine. This comp also marks Metallicas first appearance on vinyl.

Mastered at The Bijou, Hollywood, California
Licensed from Metal Blade Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 etched [STERLING stamped]): MBR-1001-A HUB STERLING
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 etched [STERLING stamped]): MBR-1001-B HUB STERLING

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MBR 1001 Various Metal Massacre(LP, Comp) Metal Blade Records MBR 1001 US 1982 Sell This Version
3984-14041-2 Various Metal Massacre(CD, Comp, RE, RM) Metal Blade Records 3984-14041-2 US 1994 Sell This Version
OXX 1575-1 Various Metal Massacre(CD, Comp, RE) Paradoxx Music OXX 1575-1 Brazil Unknown Sell This Version
MW 6363 Various Metal Massacre(LP, Comp) Metalworks Records MW 6363 Canada 1982 Sell This Version
CDMZORRO 76 Various Metal Massacre(CD, Comp, RM) Metal Blade Records CDMZORRO 76 UK 1994 Sell This Version