Various ‎– NME / Rough Trade C81

New Musical Express ‎– Copy 001, Rough Tapes ‎– Copy 001
Cassette, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Scritti Politti The "Sweetest Girl"
Engineer – The SkipperWritten-By – Green*
A2 The Beat (2) Twist And Crawl Dub
Producer – Bob Sargeant
A3 Pere Ubu Misery Goats
Recorded By – Mike BishopWritten-By – Pere Ubu
A4 Wah! Heat* 7,000 Names Of Wah
Bass – Washington*Drums – Jungle Beat Joe Musker*Guitar, Written-By – Pete Wiley*Synthesizer – King Bluff
A5 Orange Juice (3) Blue Boy
Engineer – Calum MalcolmProducer – Alex Fergusson, Orange Juice (3)Written-By – Edwyn Collins
A6 Cabaret Voltaire Raising The Count
Written-By, Producer – Watson*, Kirk*, Mallinder*
A7 D.A.F.* Kebab Traume (Live) 3:50
A8 Furious Pig Bare Pork
Engineer – Martin Frederix
A9 Specials* Raquel
Producer – D. Jordan, Jerry DammersWritten-By – Jerry Dammers
A10 Buzzcocks I Look Alone
Producer – Martin RushentRecorded By – Martin HannettWritten-By – Pete Shelley
A11 Essential Logic Fanfare In The Garden
Engineer – Dave Anderson (3)Producer – Adam Kidron, Lora*, Phil*Written-By – Logic*, Legg*
A12 Robert Wyatt Born Again Cretin
Double Bass – Peter IndEngineer – Ian SolomonWritten-By – Robert Wyatt
B1 The Raincoats Shouting Out Loud
Engineer – Adam KidronProducer – The Raincoats
B2 Josef K Endless Soul
Engineer – Calum MalcolmProducer – Josef KWritten-By – Malcolm Ross, Paul Haig
B3 Blue Orchids Low Profile
Bass Guitar – Rick*Drums – Ian*Engineer – John BrierleyKeyboards, Vocals, Guitar – Martin*Producer – Blue Orchids
B4 Virgin Prunes Red Nettle
Composed By, Arranged By, Producer – Virgin Prunes
B5 Aztec Camera We Could Send Letters
Engineer – Ron McLartyProducer – Alan Horne, Malcolm RossWritten-By – Roddy Frame
B6 Red Krayola Milkmaid
Written-By – Art & Language, M. Thompson*
B7 Linx Don't Get In My Way
Producer – Bob Carter, David Grant, Peter Martin (2)Written-By – Grant*, Martin*
B8 The Massed Carnaby St. John Cooper Clarkes* The Day My Pad Went Mad 1:46
B9 James Blood Ulmer Jazz Is The Teacher, Funk Is The Preacher
Written-By, Arranged By, Producer – James Blood Ulmer
B10 Ian Dury Close To Home
Performer, Producer – Chaz Jenkel*, Ian Dury
B11 Gist* Greener Grass
Bass, Organ – Lewis*Guitar, Drum Machine – Stewart*Producer – Dave Anderson (3), Lewis*, Philip*, Stewart*Written-By – Mottram*, Moxham*
B12 Subway Sect Parallel Lines 2:38
B13 John Cooper Clarke 81 Minutes 0:13


  • Mastered By [Cassette Mastering], Technician [Volume Productions]Alan (3)


1st version, a free tape obtainable with an NME voucher. 2 panel inlay printed both sides. Black plastic cassette shell with black paper labels. 'C81 Owner's Manual' was also printed as a cut-out-and-keep booklet with NME.

Track B13 is unlisted.

This version has a different tracklist to the subsequent commercial release through Rough Trade (Various - NME / Rough Trade C81), which substitutes A9 ('Raquel' by The Specials) and B7 ('Don't Get In My Way' by Linx) with alternatives. It also does not include the text: "This cassette began as a mail order only offer through the NME. Two tracks (marked **) are new, due to contractual obligations. Many thanks to the NME for their efforts."

The following texts appear on the inlays of both versions.

"This is the first release (catalogue number Copy 001) of ROUGH TAPES, the new Rough Trade tape cassette catalogue. Future Rough Tapes releases will include "Voice Of America" by Cabaret Voltaire, "Colossal Youth" by Young Marble Giants, "The Art Of Walking" by Pere Ubu, new studio LPs by The Raincoats, Scritti Politti, Red Crayola and Wire "cassette only" collection of unreleased material.

The special care with which these cassettes are manufactured is your guarantee of optimum sound quality and of musical reproduction close to the master tape. All our cassette mastering and volume productions was handled by Alan of Tape To Tape Duplicating, phone No. 01 388 5392.

DAF appear by the incredibly kind permission of Mute Records. Orange Juice, Aztec Camera and Josef K are all on the Postcard label. Buzzcocks appear to be part of the of the EMI Leisure Combine; Ian Dury appears courtesy of Stiff Records; Wah! Heat appear couresty of Inevitable Records, and Subway Sect appear courtesy of Oddball.
All the rest are on the Rough Trade Label 221 - 1100."

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Copy 001 Various NME / Rough Trade C81(Cass, Comp, Unofficial) Zorro-Tapes Copy 001 UK 1981 Sell This Version
none Various Rough Trade C81 6 Track Sampler(Reel, 10.5" Reel, Comp, Promo, Smplr) Rough Tapes none UK 1981 Sell This Version
none Various Rough Trade C81 6 Track Sampler(Cass, Comp, Promo, Smplr) Rough Tapes none US 1981 Sell This Version
Copy 001 Various NME / Rough Trade C81(Cass, Comp, RE) New Musical Express, Rough Tapes Copy 001 UK 1981 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 22, 2008

I got this with NME on the day of issue and have kept it as best I can during the ensuing years. Try as I might, I cant get this on CD as a stand alone product. The tape has perished slightly but a mate at work transferred from cassette to CD. The sound quality is poor, but listenable. The musical quality is still there - DAF, early buzzcocks, the special aka when they WERE special, classic Josef K and the stand out track "close to home" by Kilburn and the High Roads. 5000 names of Wah, under Pete Wiley's stewardship still excites me - high octane real music.

If anyone has a good quality copy of this on disc, I will gladly pay for the privilege. I will hold on to my cassette and the flawed digital attempt and nestle in memories of bloody good music spanning ska, soul, poetry, punk and pop. Stunning still.