Various ‎– Next Stop... Soweto Vol. 2 (Soul, Funk & Organ Grooves From The Townships 1969-1976)

Strut ‎– STRUT057LP
Next Stop... Soweto – Vol. 2
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 J. K. Mayengani And The Shingwedzi Sisters Khubani
Composed By – J.K. Mayengani
A2 The Monks (6) Blockhead
Composed By – The Monks (6)
A3 The Klooks Nkuli's Shuffle
Composed By – Z. Bidi*
A4 Phillip Malela* Tiba Kamo
Composed By – S. Ntuli*Producer – Hilton RosenthalRecorded By – Paul Wright
A5 The Mgababa Queens Akulalwa Esoweto
Composed By – N.F. Bopape, E. Piliso*
B1 The Heroes (4) Funky Message
Composed By – The Heroes (4)
B2 Bra Sello & His Band Soul Time Nzimande Go
Composed By – Sello Mmutung
B3 Mahotella Queens Wozani Mahipi
Composed By – N.F. Bopape, E. Piliso*
B4 The S.A. Move Skophom
Composed By – J. Petersen
B5 The Soul Prophets Soul "Imbaq"
Composed By – M. Davashe*
B6 The Grasshoppers (4) I Am There
Composed By – Philip NgubaneProducer – Thomas R. Mdakane
C1 The Toreadors Gwinyitshe
Composed By – Teaspoon Ndelu
C2 Down Tones Back Home Soul
Composed By – M. Makina
C3 Bazali Bam Bazali Bam
Composed By – J. Gulane
C4 The Heroes (4) Come With Me
Composed By – C. B. Matiwane, The Heroes (4)Producer – C. B. Matiwane
C5 Flaming Souls* Mosquito
Composed By – Flaming Souls*Producer – David Thekwane
C6 Electric Six Can You Feel It
Composed By – Hardways (2)
D1 Phillip Malela* & The Movers (2) Intandane
Composed By – Phillip Malela*Producer – David Thekwane
D2 Soul Throbs* Little Girl
Composed By – P. Tukane*Producer – David Thekwane
D3 The Heshoo Beshoo Group Wait And See
Composed By – Henry Sithole
D4 The Anchors (2) Last Time
Composed By – The Anchors (2)
D5 Gibson Kente Saduva
Composed By – Gibson KenteProducer – C. B. Matiwane

Companies, etc.



The subtitle on labels read: "Vol. 2: Soultown. R&B, Funk & Psych Sounds from the Townships 1969-1976"

Mastered at Masterpiece, London.

All photographs courtesy of

This compilation:
℗ 2010 Strut
© 2010 Strut
Strut is part of the !K7 Label Group.

Manufactured in the E.U.

The back of the release features the detailed track selection and some text (detailed notes) by David B. Coplan, author of 'In Township Tonight', alongside five archive photos.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 730003 305719
  • Label Code: LC 07306
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): STRUT 057 LP-A -20654-
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): STRUT 057 LP-B -20654-
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side C): STRUT 057 LP-C -20655-
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side D): STRUT 057 LP-D -20655-