Various ‎– Not Necessarily "English Music"

Leonardo Music Journal ‎– Volume 11, Electronic Music Foundation ‎– EMF CD 036
LMJ CD Series – 11
2 × CD, Album, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1.01 AMM Live At The Royal College Of Art
Performer – Cornelius Cardew, Eddie Prévost, Keith Rowe, Lawrence Sheaff, Lou Gare
1.02 Max Eastley Wind Flutes Urban
Noises [Sound Sculptures] – Max Eastley
1.03 Intermodulation Performants
Performer, Composed By – Peter Britton, Robin Thompson (2), Roger Smalley, Tim SousterTechnician [Recording Prepared By] – Simon Emmerson (2)
1.04 Frank Perry Wedged Into Release
Percussion – Frank Perry
1.05 Michael Parsons & Howard Skempton Piece For Cello And Accordion
Accordion – Howard SkemptonCello, Composed By – Michael ParsonsRecorded By – Dave Smith (3)
1.06 Daphne Oram Four Aspects
Performer, Composed By – Daphne Oram
1.07 abAna The Judith Poem
Electric Guitar – David ToopPercussion – Paul BurwellTechnician [Digital Conversion] – Dave HuntVoice, Composed By – Bob Cobbing
1.08 Hugh Davies Music For Three Springs
Performer [Amplified Springs], Composed By – Hugh Davies
1.09 Robert Worby Piano Musics I & II
Performer, Composed By – Robert Worby
1.10 Lol Coxhill & Steve Miller (3) Plum
Electric Piano – Steve Miller (3)Soprano Saxophone, Effects [Copy Cat Echo] – Lol Coxhill
1.11 Spontaneous Music Orchestra Search And Reflect
Composed By – John Stevens (2)Performer – Chris Turner, Christopher Small, David Toop, Herman Hauge, John Stevens (2), Lou Gare, Mike Barton, Paul Burwell, Ron Herman, Trevor Watts, Ye MinRecorded By – David ToopTechnician [Digital Conversion] – Dave Hunt
1.12 The People Band Part 3
Performer – Eddie Edem, Frank Flowers, George Khan, Lyn Dobson, Mel Davis (2), Mick Figgis, Russ Herncy, Terry Day, Terry Halman, Tony Edwards (4)
1.13 Evan Parker & Paul Lytton As It Were
Percussion, Electronics – Paul LyttonReeds – Evan Parker
2.01 John Stevens (2) Solo
Percussion, Cornet, Voice – John Stevens (2)Producer – Trevor Taylor (2)
2.02 Steve Beresford Toy Piano 1:47
2.03 Steve Beresford Voice 1:43
2.04 Cornelius Cardew & Jane Manning Battle March
Arranged By, Piano – Cornelius CardewRecorded By – Dave Smith (3)Voice – Jane Manning
2.05 Ron Geesin Duet For One-String Banjo And Water Cistern
Composed By, Performer – Ron Geesin
2.06 Gentle Fire Group Composition VI (Unfixed Parities)
Performer – Graham Hearn, Hugh Davies, Michael Robinson (2), Richard Bernas, Stuart JonesRecorded By – Hugh Davies
2.07 Rain In The Face Instant Composition No. 1
Drums – Paul BurwellElectric Guitar – David ToopTechnician [Digital Conversion] – Dave Hunt
2.08 Ranulph Glanville Nona Meyeah Teay
Composed By, Performer – Ranulph Glanville
2.09 Derek Bailey Improvisation 5
Guitar – Derek Bailey
2.10 The Campiello Band Miserere
Performer – Doug Wooten, Keith Thompson (2), Lucie Skeaping, Michael Nyman, Roddie Skeaping*, Rory Allam, Steve SaundersRecorded By – Robert Worby
2.11 Mike Cooper Pharoah's March
Alto Saxophone – Mike OsborneBass – Harry MillerComposed By, Guitar – Mike CooperDrums – Alan JacksonPiano – John Taylor (2)Tenor Saxophone – Alan Skidmore, Geoff Hawkins
2.12 A Touch Of The Sun Geese
Clarinet – Simon MayoGuitar – Peter Cusack
2.13 The Scratch Orchestra Pilgrimage From Scattered Points On The Surface Of The Body To The Brain, The Inner Ear, The Heart And The Stomach
Remastered By – Bryn Harris
2.14 Frank Perry, Mongezi Feza & Chris McGregor Blowin' In The Wind
Drums – Frank PerryPiano – Chris McGregorTrumpet – Mongezi Feza

Companies, etc.



Subtitled "a collection of experimental music from Great Britain, 1960-1977".

Published in two editions:

Two CDs in a jewel case available from Electronic Music Foundation.

Two CDs mounted in the rear of Leonardo Music Journal Volume 11, published by The MIT Press, which includes: "Introduction - Not Necessarily 'English Music': Britain's Second Golden Age" by Nicolas Collins, "The Scratch Orchestra and Visual Arts" by Michael Parsons, "Cardew as a Basis for Discussion on Ethical Options" by Coriún Aharonián, "The New English Keyboard School: A Second 'Golden Age'" by Sarah E. Walker, "The Arrival of a New Musical Aesthetic: Extracts from a Half-Buried Diary" by Eddie Prévost, "Imaging Music: Abstract Expressionism and Free Improvisation" by Matthew Sansom, "Between Now and Then: The Auto-Interview of a Lapsed Musician" by Ranulph Glanville. "Plus ça change: Journeys, Instruments and Networks, 1966-2000" by Lawrence Casserley, "Stuart Marshall: Composer, Video Artist and Filmmaker, 1949-1993" by Alvin Lucier, "Gentle Fire: An Early Approach to Live Electronic Music" by Hugh Davies, "Making It Up as You Go Along" by Stuart Jones, "Remembering How To Forget: An Artist's Exploration of Sound" by Robin Rimbaud, "AudiOh!: Appropriation, Accident and Alteration" by Janek Schaefer, "Rorschach Audio: Ghost Voices and Perceptual Creativity" by Joe Banks, plus Contributors’ Notes on the double CD from Max Eastley, Simon Emmerson, Frank Perry, Michael Parsons, Hugh Davies, Bob Cobbing, Lol Coxhill, Terry Day, Steve Beresford, Ron Geesin, Ranulph Glanville, Mike Cooper, Peter Cusack, and Bryn Harris.