Various ‎– Origin

Nano Records ‎– NANOOCD005
CD, Compilation, Enhanced

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Protoculture Digital World
Written-By, Producer – Nate Raubenheimer
2 The Commercial Hippies Not Human
Written-By, Producer – Anton Raubenheimer, Gareth Tacon
3 Bent Sentient Suffocation Dividend (Broken Toy Remix)
Remix, Producer [Additional] – Broken ToyWritten-By, Producer – Pierre Zeeman
4 Eskimo (3) Welcome To The Arcade
Written-By, Producer – Jon Ford
5 Hydrophonic Pull The String
Written-By, Producer – Gareth Tacon, Regan Tacon
6 Tristan & Psyberant Digital Pimp
Written-By, Producer – Ian Cox (2), Tristan Cooke
7 Corona (2) Photosynthesis
Producer [Additional] – Gareth TaconWritten-By, Producer – Brendon Rod, Karl Haniche, Magnus Claussen
8 The Electric Ant First Run (The Commercial Hippies Remix)
Remix, Producer [Additional] – The Commercial HippiesWritten-By, Producer – Anselm Guise, Anton Raubenheimer, Gareth Tacon, Jeremy Feigelson
9 Smoke Screen (2) Spaces (Hydrophonic Remix)
Remix, Producer [Additional] – HydrophonicWritten-By, Producer – Derek Richardson, Gareth Tacon, Regan Tacon

Companies, etc.



"Bonus track (plus loads more) for you to download when you put this CD in your computer".

Made on Earth ℗ and © Nano Records 2004

"The little ones make the loudest noise".

Mastered at The Nano Lab, Cape Town.

"CD Extra" format. Contains flash portal to Nano members' domain.

Distribution South Africa: UFO
Distribution Rest of the world: Arabesque

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 6009656490368
  • Barcode (Text): 6 009656 490368



Add Review



December 6, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
Nano Records based in South Africa and the UK, is out with a new compilation. This time they celebrate the Origin Festival. As usual they serve us some groovy morning stumpers for the summer outdoor party season.

First out is Protoculture (N. Raubenheimer) who released a strong debut album (Refractions) on Nano Records. Here we get a brand new, rolling groovy track, with some light floating morning vibes. Groovy music with light melodies perfect for the morning after a night of dark trance. Track 2 is by Commercial Hippies who also had a track on the Clarity compilation released on Nano Records. They impress me with the track they give us here. Pretty deep track, totally groovy, and a bit darker. Some really cool, twisted sounds swirl around in there too. We also get a few voice samples. One of my favourite tracks on this album. Track 3 is by Bent Sentient. This track was originally released on the Dilation compilation on Nano Records last year, but here we get a remix done by Broken Toy. Broken Toy gives us some darker night time vibes. Very heavy, rolling beats, and almost scary floating sounds. Then we get a new track by Eskimo (dj Junya) who is a really young artist who released his debut album (Can You Pick Me Up?) on Phantasm Records. He sure likes the full on style. Here he gives us a pretty fluffy full on track. Heavy rolling bass line, with several take offs and varied melodies.

Track 5 is by Hydrophonic (G. Tacon and R. Tacon) who have released several tracks on various compilations on Nano Records. Here we get a new fresh track from them. Groovy, melodic track. Pretty drifting, light melodies all the way through. Then we get a collaboration between Tristan and Psyberant. This track is a bit more minimal, but not as minimal as the usual Tristan track. Pretty rough, rolling beats all the way through, mixed with some drifting tribal drums. Track 7 is by a new band called Corona. This is a really pushing track. Fat bass line, several voice samples and a bit fluffy melodies. This track is one of the most full on tracks on this compilation. Track 8 is by The Electric Ant who has released a couple of tracks on Nano compilations before. Here we get a track called First Run, but remixed by Commercial Hippies. This track is really pumping, with some tribal drums in between. Again a bit darker vibe. I really like those psychedelic sounds jumping in and out of the track. The break in the middle is pretty cool too. The last track on this compilation is by an artist called Smoke Screen, here remixed by Hydrophonic. They give us another track perfect for the morning. Stumping rhythms and groovy as hell. You also get a bonus track with this release, which you can download from Nano Records web portal. You can only download the track if you have the password you get if you buy this compilation. Cool deal!

Nano Records is for sure among the strongest morning full on labels out there. Here we get a nice selection of artists and groovy morning tracks.