Various ‎– Perspectives And Distortion

Cherry Red ‎– B RED 15
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Claire Thomas And Susan Vezey* Bright Waves
Effects [Treatments] – Susan Vezey*, Philip SandersonVocals – Claire Thomas*Written-By – Thomas*, Sanderson*
A2 Matt Johnson What Stanley Saw
Engineer – Colin Lloyd-TuckerInstruments [All], Tape – Matt JohnsonProducer – Matt JohnsonWritten-By – Johnson*
A3 Virgin Prunes "Third Secret"
Concept By [Conceived By] – Gavin*, Bintii*Performer – Virgin PrunesProducer – Dik, Bintii*Written-By – Virgin Prunes
A4 Lol Coxhill The Calm...
Soprano Saxophone – Lol CoxhillWritten-By – Coxhill*
A5 Lemon Kittens …In Wooden Brackets
Lyrics By – Danielle DaxMusic By – Lemon KittensProducer – Lemon KittensWritten-By – Lemon Kittens
A6 Eyeless In Gaza You Frighten
Producer – Eyeless In GazaSynthesizer, Backing Vocals – Peter BeckerVoice, Organ, Backing Vocals – Martyn BatesWritten-By – Bates*, Becker*
A7 Kevin Coyne Hello Judas
Drums, Piano – Paul WickensProducer – Kevin CoyneVoice – Kevin CoyneWritten-By – Coyne*
A8 Mark Perry Dear, Dear
Written-By – Perry*
B1 Ben Watt Departure
Engineer – Mike GregovichProducer – Kevin CoyneVoice, Guitar – Ben WattWritten-By – Watt*
B2 Two Daughters Return Call/We Are
Clarinet [Solo] – Jon MorePerformer [Music Played By] – Two DaughtersProducer – Two DaughtersWritten-By – Two Daughters
B3 Kevin Harrison People In Space
Instruments [All] – Kevin HarrisonWritten-By – Harrison*
B4 Thomas Leer Kings Of Sham
Instruments [All] – Thomas LeerWritten-By – Leer*
B5 Five Or Six Folded
Bass, Vocals – Graham CassieTape – David KnightVocals – Danny Whittock*, John Yorke (2)Wood Block, Vocals – David HarperWritten-By – Whittock*, D. Harper*, Knight*, Cassie*, Yorke*
B6 Morgan-Fisher* Foreign Correspondent
Instruments [All] – Morgan-Fisher*Written-By – Morgan-Fisher*
B7 Robert Fripp Remorse Of Conscience
Written-By – Fripp*
B8 A. Tent* No Way Of Knowing
Guitar – Mike AlwayOrgan – Gavin PoveyVoice – Kim MiddletonWritten-By – A. Tent*
B9 David Jackman Untitled
Cymbal [20" Ride Played With A Bow] – David JackmanEngineer – Philip SandersonWritten-By – Jackman*

Companies, etc.



A1 basic track recorded at Westbourne Terrace July 1980; thanks to Thomas Tallis; credited only to Claire Thomas on the label.
A2 recorded at De Wolfe Studios, London W1 in the Spring 1980
A3 recorded at The Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin
A4 recorded at home in April 1981
A5 recorded in Various locations between 1979 and 1981; thanks to Charles Gray and Ian Solomon at Wave Studio
A6 recorded at Woodbine Studio, Leamington Spa April 1981; thanks to John Rivers
A7 recorded at Alvic Studios, Wimbledon 1978; Kevin Coyne appears courtesy of Virgin Records
B1 recorded at Alvic Studios, London W14 not long ago; thanks to all
B2 recorded in England 1980
B3 recorded at home last year
B4 recorded at home March 1981
B6 recorded at RCA Studios, Rome during March 1973
B7 was improvised and recorded live in two passes before the cameras of Bournemouth College film department at Arny's Shack in Parkstone, Dorset during March 1981; the film was directed by Chris Harvey. Listed as 3:10 on the sleeve, it is actually about 1:26.
B9 consists of two out of phase layers of a looped fragment of bowed cymbal sound at ½ speed, overlaid by real time bowing at ¼ speed

All tracks © Cherry Red Music Ltd
A3 Rough Trade Music
A5 Lemon Kittens Music
A6 Cherry Red/Oval Music
A7 Virgin Music
B6 Cherry Red/Pipe Music
B7 E.G. Music

P&C - 1981 Cherry Records Ltd
Made in France Imp. S.N.A.
Manufactured through CPS

Made in France

Comes in gatefold cover.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, hand-etched runout): ART PAYS [SNA stamp] BRED 15 A1 Ʊ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, hand-etched runout): Ʊ [SNA stamp] BRED 15 B-1

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All