Various ‎– Pine Ridge: An Open Letter To Alan Rock (Songs For Leonard Peltier)

CD, Album, Compilation, Partially Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Sarah McLachlan Unchained Melody
Acoustic Guitar – Francis AnilDrums, Dobro – Ashwin SoodProducer, Bass – Pierre MarchandVocals, Keyboards – Sarah McLachlanWritten-By – Alex North, Hy Zaret
2 Jane Siberry My Mother Is Not The White Dove
Bass – Booker KingDrums – Dean SharpEngineer, Mixed By, Trumpet – David Travers-SmithMusic By – Alex Gifford, Ayub Ogada, Jane SiberryPiano – Tim Ray (2)Producer – Siberry*Recorded By – David Travers-Smith, Gary StokesVocals, Lyrics By – Jane Siberry
3 The Tragically Hip Flamenco
Recorded By [Recorded Live By] – Mark VreekenWritten-By – The Tragically Hip
4 Michael Ondaatje In The Skin Of The Lion (Part 1)
Engineer – Robert CobbanRead By [Reading By], Written-By – Michael Ondaatje
5 Tamara Williamson Let Him Out!
Performer [Performed By], Written-By – Tamara WilliamsonProducer – Ken Myhr
6 Greg Keelor Pine Ridge
Acoustic Guitar, Written-By – Greg KeelorBass – Bazil DonovanDrums – Glenn MilchemEngineer – Bruce Longman, Daryn BarryGuitar – Jim CuddyKeyboards – James Gray (2)Mandolin [Invisible Mandolin] – Colin LindenMixed By – Daryn Barry, Greg KeelorPedal Steel Guitar [Pedal Steel], Dobro – Kim DeschampsVocals – Greg Keelor, Tabby Johnson
7 Ashley MacIsaac King Of The Fairies
Producer – Michael Phillip WojewodaWritten-By – Traditional
8 Bob Wiseman Response Of A Lakota Woman To FBI Intimidation Circa 1973 Pine Ridge
Bass – Hugh PhillipsDrums – Andy StochanskyGuitar – Wayne CassProducer, Keyboards, Written-By – Bob WisemanVocals – Andy Stochansky, Bob Wiseman, Hugh Phillips
9 Ursula (13) The Only One
Bass – Jason CollettDrums – Randy CurnewEngineer – Daryl SmithOrgan, Written-By – Andrew CashPiano – Kevin FoxProducer – Ursula (13)Vocals, Guitar – Andrew Cash, Kevin Fox
10 Michael Ondaatje In The Skin Of The Lion (Part 2)
Engineer – Robert CobbanRead By [Reading By], Written-By – Michael Ondaatje
11 Anne Bourne Robin's Egg Blue (What's That Love?)
Engineer – Ormond JobinEngineer [Assistant] – Tom HeronRecorded By [Additional Recording], Mixed By [Additional Mix] – Ken MyhrVocals, Piano, Cello, Written-By – Anne Bourne
12 Jim Cuddy Smoking Gun
Acoustic Guitar – Colin CrippsBass – Bazil DonovanDrum [Hand Drum] – Glenn MilchemDrums – Greg KeelorEngineer – Alfio Annibalini, Bruce Longman, Daryn BarryGuitar – Glenn Milchem, Jim CuddyKeyboards, Violin – James Gray (2)Mixed By – Alfio Annibalini, Daryn Barry, Jim CuddyVocals – Colin Cripps, Jim CuddyWritten-By – Jim Cuddy
13 The Skydiggers* St. Dunstan's One Request
Performer [Performed By] – The Skydiggers*Written-By – Andy Maize, Josh Finlayson
14 Change Of Heart Moon Over Pluto
Bass – Rob*Drums – John*Guitar, Vocals – Ian BlurtonKeyboards – Bernard*Mastered By – Brett ZilahiMixed By – Change Of Heart, Daryl SmithMixed By [Assisted By] – Dave Tedesco, Don Hachet, Ed KrautnerProducer – Change Of Heart, Mark TrombinoRecorded By – Mark TrombinoSaxophone [Sax] – Dirk (69)Trumpet – Brian (195)Written-By – Maiezza*, Richardson*, Blurton*, Borra*, Higgins*
15 Molly Johnson Many Rivers To Cross
Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Francis Anil, Gordie JohnsonBass – Bazil DonovanDrums – Glenn MilchemEngineer – Peter HudsonOrgan [Lowrey Genie] – Al Kaline (2)Producer, Guitar – Gordie JohnsonVocals – Molly JohnsonWritten-By – Jimmy Cliff
16 John Borra Ballad Of The Girl
Cello – Anne BourneProducer, Mixed By – John Borra, Ken MyhrRecorded By – Ken MyhrVocals, Guitar, Harmonica, Written-By – John Borra
17 Michelle McAdorey Not Vanishing
Bass – John BorraDrums – Gavin BrownGuitar, Sounds [Sound], Recorded By [Vocals And Bass Recorded By] – Ken MyhrProducer – Ken Myhr, Michelle McAdoreyRecorded By [Drums And Guitar Recorded By] – Mark PetersVocals, Written-By – Michelle McAdorey

Companies, etc.



Track 1 published by Frank Music Corp. (ASCAP). Recorded at Wild Sky Studios. Sarah McLachlan appears courtesy of Nettwerk Records.

Track 2 © 1994 Wing-It Music / Womad Music Ltd. / Virgin Music Ltd. / Sold For A Song / MCA Publishing. Recorded from a live performance on tour Nov. 1996. ℗ 1996 Sheeba Records.

Track 3 published by © 1996 Weiner Art / Árte Humane / Dirty Shorts Music / Bhaji Maker / Ching Music. Recorded live at the 9:30 Club in Washington, DC. The Tragically Hip appears courtesy of MCA Music Entertainment.

Tracks 4 and 10 © Michael Ondaatje / Vintage Canada. Recorded at Studio 306.

Track 5 published by Third Leg. Recorded at The 3rd Floor. Tamara Williamson appears courtesy of BMG Music Canada.

Track 6 published by Thunderhawk Music. Recorded at Hypnotic Studios. Greg Keelor appears courtesy of Warner Music Canada Ltd.

Track 7 Ashley MacIsaac appears courtesy of A&M Records.

Track 8 published by Grow Or Die Music. Bob Wiseman appears courtesy of Warner Music Canada Ltd.

Track 9 published by Positively Music. Recorded at Chemical Sound.

Track 11 published by Sea Anemone Music. Recorded at Reaction Studios. Additional recording and mix at The 3rd Floor.

Track 12 published by Thunderhawk Music. Recorded at Hypnotic Studios. Jim Cuddy appears courtesy of Warner Music Canada Ltd.

Track 13 published by Skydiggers Music 1996. Recorded at Reaction Sound Studios.

Track 14 published by Dischordian Music / Warner Chappell Music Publishing Canada. Recorded at Studio Morin Heights and Metalworks. ℗ 1996 EMI Music Canada (for the world excluding Canada) ℗ 1996 Ian Blurton, John Richardson, Bernard Maiezza & Rob Higgins, p.k.a. "Change Of Heart" (for Canada).

Track 15 published by PolyGram International Inc. (BMI). Recorded at HallaMusic.

Track 16 recorded at The 3rd Floor.

Track 17 published by Round Rock Music. Recorded at The 3rd Floor.

Mastered at Studio Morin Heights.

℗© This compilation 1996 Leonard Peltier Defense Committee, Canada. Photographs copyright Kevin McKiernan. Manufactured and distributed by / Fabriqué et distribué par Warner Music Canada Ltd, a Warner Music Group company.

The spoken word tracks are sequed into the intros of the tracks that follow them.

Track 5 credits the artist as Tamara Williamson of Mrs. Torrance.

This benefit release was made available on CD and audio cassette through most major music stores across Canada or to order directly from the Leonard Peltier Defense Committee Canada. This album was released in October 1996 and is a collaborated effort of many original songs from 16 top Canadian musicians. It was created as a direct appeal to Canada's Justice Minister to seek justice for Peltier. LPDC International spokesperson Frank Dreaver's letter to the Justice Minister is in the albums liner notes. Proceeds go to support projects for Leonard's freedom.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 06301 62592 7
  • Barcode: 706301625927
  • Matrix / Runout: #960919XG CD-16259
  • Pressing Plant ID (Located In Matrix Ring): MFG BY CINRAM
  • Mastering SID Code: L386
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 6000