Various ‎– Poets In New York

CBS ‎– CBS 450286 1
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Leonard Cohen Take This Waltz
Music By, Translated By [English Lyrics By] – Leonard CohenProducer – Michel Reusser*, Leonard CohenWritten By – F.G. Lorca/L.Cohen/English Lyrics By L.Cohen
A2 Lluis Llach Els Negres (Norma I Paradis)
Producer, Music By, Lyrics By [Catalan Lyrics] – Lluis LlachWritten By – F.G. Lorca/L. Llach/Catalán Lyrics By L. Llach
A3 Angelo Branduardi Grido A Roma
Lyrics By [Italian Lyrics] – Carlo BoMusic By – Angelo BranduardiWritten By – F.G. Lorca/A. Branduardi/Italian Lyrics By Carlo Bo
A4 Víctor Manuel Nacimiento De Cristo
Music By – Victor Manuel San José*Producer – Geoff WestleyWritten By – F.G. Lorca/V.M. San José
A5 David Broza ‏ילדותך במנטון‎
Lyrics By [Hebrew Lyrics] – Yonathan GeffenMusic By – David BrozaProducer – Louis LahavWritten By – F.G. Lorca/D. Broza/Hebrew Lyrics By Yonathan Geffen
A6 Paco De Lucía Y Pepe De Lucía Asesinato
Music By – Paco De Lucía, Pepe De LucíaProducer – Miguel Ángel ArenasWritten By – F.G. Lorca/Paco De Lucía/Pepe De Lucía
B1 Raimundo Fagner Y Chico Buarque A Aurora
Lyrics By [Portuguese Lyrics] – Terreira GullarMusic By – Raimundo FagnerProducer – Reinaldo AriasWritten By – F.G. Lorca/R. Fagner/Portuguese Lyrics By Terreira Gullar
B2 Georges Moustaki Y Mikis Theodorakis Φεύγω Για Το Σαντιάγο
Lyrics By [Greek Lyrics] – Michalis BourboulisProducer, Music By – Mikis TheodorakisWritten By – F.G. Lorca/M. Theodorakis/Greek Lyrics By Michalis Borboulis
B3 Donovan Unsleeping City
Lyrics By [English Lyrics] – Ben BelittMusic By – DonovanProducer – Staff (2)Written By – F.G. Lorca/Donovan/English Lyrics By Ben Belitt
B4 Manfred Maurenbrecher Kleines Unendliches Gedicht
Lyrics By [German Lyrics] – Enrique BeckMusic By – Manfred MaurenbrecherProducer – Hubert HenleWritten By – F.G. Lorca/M. Maurenbrecher/German Lyrics By Enrique Bech
B5 Patxi Andión Oda A Walt Whitman
Music By – Patxi AndiónProducer – Richard Spellman, Sean LyonsWritten By – F.G. Lorca/P. Andión

Companies, etc.



All the tracks have been recorded in 1986, the year of commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the death of Federico García Lorca.

Includes a 90 x 30 cm insert with the original poems of Federico García Lorca in Castillian, translations of all poems in English and a translation each in the other languages of their respective performers.

"Take This Waltz" is based on the poem "Pequeño Vals Vienes" (Little Viennese Waltz), performed in English. Recorded at Montmartre Studios in Paris.

"Els Negres (Norma I Paradis)" is based on the poem "Norma Y Paraiso De Los Negros" (The Blacks Of This World And The Next), performed in Catalan. Recorded at Eurosonic Studios in Madrid.

"Grido A Roma" is based on the poem "Grito Hacia Roma" (Cry To Rome), performed in Italian. Recorded at Forum Studios in Rome.

"Nacimiento De Christo" is based on the poem of the same name (The Birth Of Christ), performed in Castillian. Recorded at Marcus Music, Eel Pie and Parsifal Studios in London.

"‏ילדותך במנטון‎" is based on the poem "Tu Infancia En Menton" (Your Childhood in Menton), performed in Hebrew. Recorded at The Ranch Studios in New York.

"Asesinato" is based on the poem of the same name (Murder), performed in Castillian. Recorded at Circus Studios in Madrid.

"A Aurora" is based on the poem "La Aurora" (Dawn), performed in Portuguese. Recorded at Sigla Studios in Rio de Janeiro.

"Φεύγω Για Το Σαντιάγο" is based on the poem "Son De Negros En Cuba" (Blacks Dancing To Cuban Rhythms), performed in Greek. Recorded at Zeta Studios in Athens.

"Unsleeping City" is performed in English. Recorded at Eurosonic Studios in Madrid.

"Kleines Unendliches Gedicht" is based on the poem "Pequeño Poema Infinito" (Little Infinite Poem), performed in German. Recorded at Thomas Funk Studios in Berlin.

"Oda A Walt Whitman" is based on the poem of the same name (Ode To Walt Whitman), performed in Castillian. Recorded at Circus Studios in Madrid.

Compilation ℗ 1986 Discos CBS S.A. / © 1986 Discos CBS S.A. / CBS and [walking eye logo] ® CBS Inc.
Distribution CBS Records / CBS Disques S.A.

Printed in Holland
Made In Holland.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (EAN-Code, Scanned): 5099745028610
  • Label Code: LC 0149
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A): 01-450286-1A-1 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B): 01-450286-1B-1 A
  • Price Code (Boxed): CB 291
  • Price Code (Circled): 58
  • Rights Society: BIEM / STEMRA
  • Rights Society: S.G.A.E.

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CBS 462602 1 Various Poetas En Nueva York(LP, Comp) CBS CBS 462602 1 Spain Unknown Sell This Version
CBS 462602 2 Various Poetas En Nueva York(CD) CBS CBS 462602 2 Spain 1986 Sell This Version
450307-4 Various Poets In New York(Cass, Comp) CBS 450307-4 Greece 1986 Sell This Version
CBS 450307 1 Various Poetas En Nueva York (Folder Promo Set)(LP, Comp, Promo) CBS CBS 450307 1 Spain 1986 Sell This Version
4777732 Various Poetas En Nueva York(CD, Comp, RE) Sony Music 4777732 Spain 1998 Sell This Version