Various ‎– Portable Shrines Magic Sound Theatre Vol. I

Translinguistic Other ‎– TLO04
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Geist & The Sacred Ensemble* Circles
Percussion – Nicholas Davis, Samuel YoderRecorded By, Producer – Bobby WaneVocals, Performer [Nepalese Aerophone] – Michael Sauder
A2 Plankton Wat Astro Fields
Performer, Recorded By – Dewey Mahood
A3 Tiny Light Shasta
Bass – Chris Cole (3)Drums – Samuel YoderGuitar – Aubrey Nehring, Geary ClaunchePercussion – Rene RuizRecorded By, Mixed By – David GolightlySaxophone – Ryan Corder
A4 Diminished Men Oblong Trance
Bass – Simon HennemanDrums, Percussion – Dave AbramsonGuitar – Milky BurgessPerformer [Breathing] – Steve SchmittProducer, Recorded By, Mixed By – Randall Dunn
A5 To Get Her Together Gotta Make Your Hands Work
Drums – Alexa MarmonVocals, Guitar, Recorded By – Jeff Sanger
B1 AFCGT Clock
Written-By, Performer, Recorded By, Mastered By, Producer – AFCGT
B2 Midday Veil Child Of God
Drums – Chris PollinaGuitar [Baritone Guitar] – Timm MasonRecorded By – Mell DettmerSynthesizer [Synths] – David GolightlyVocals – Emily PothastWritten-By – Traditional
B3 Brother Raven Beast
Performer [Brother Raven Is] – JRP*, JEA*Recorded By – BR*
B4 Eternal Tapestry Chrome Forest
Drums – Jed BindemanGuitar – Dewey Mahood, Nick BindemanVocals – Nick Bindeman
C1 Prince Rama* I Am Not Invincible
Other [Narrative Excerpt Courtesy Of] – Mouli PalPerformer, Recorded By – Taraka Larson
C2 Master Musicians Of Bukkake Ban A Chu
Producer, Recorded By – Randall Dunn
C3 Janina Angelbath* Mudra
Sitar, Recorded By – Joe Levinson (2)Vocals, Tambura [Tamboura] – Janina Angel Bath
C4 Blood Red Dancers The Lamb
Recorded By – John Andrews (10)
C5 This Blinding Light Soul On Fire
Performer, Recorded By – This Blinding Light
D1 Night Beats Thorns
Recorded By – D. Lee Blackwell*
D2 Purple Rhinestone Eagle Burn It Down
Recorded By – Alex Yusimov
D3 A Story Of Rats _/\_ (Revised)
Harmonium, Harmonium [Shruti Box], Voice, Synthesizer [Synthesizers], Electronics – Garek Jon Druss*Vocals [Additional Vocals], Technician [Post Production] – Black Green
D4 Kinski Whatever Happened To Madeleine Stowe
Bass – Lucy AtkinsonDrums – Barrett WilkeFlute – Matthew Reid-Schwarz*Guitar, Written-By – Chris Martin (3)Mixed By – Mell Dettmer, Randall DunnProducer – Randall DunnStrings [Special Guest] – Eyvind Kang

Companies, etc.



"Vinyl-only compilation of current psych, garage and experimental music curated by Seattle's Portable Shrines Collective."

Exclusive release for Record Store Day 2011, in an edition of 1000.
Heavy vinyl in a gatefold sleeve.

Includes a poster-sized folded insert with track information and credits.

A1: Recorded and produced in August 2009 at the Hiawatha Community Arts Space, Seattle.
A2: Performed and recorded at the Owl House, Portland, Spring 2010.
A3: Recorded and mixed June 2010.
A4: Produced, recorded and mixed at Aleph Studios, Seattle. From the upcoming album Capnomancy. © 2010 Bowels of Lunacy.
A5: Recorded at Lovers Lane Studios at the Chateau. © 2010 Jeff Sanger/Synthetic Synesthesia Sights & Sounds.
B1: Written, performed, recorded, mastered, produced, copyright at AFCGT Headquarters.
B2: Recorded at Aleph Studios, Seattle, January 2010. Inspired by the version recorded by <a href="">Odetta</a> (Verve Folkways 1967).
B3: Recorded to tape in 2010.
B4: Recorded at Tapestry Space, 2008.
C1: Drum loop sampled from <a href="">"Radio India,"</a> used with permission of Sublime Frequencies.
C2: Alternate mix appears as "Theme From The Science Fiction Television Show 'Ban Bè Cua Anh Ay,'" <a href="">Conspiracy Records 2010</a>.
C4: From the EP "Let Him Fight, I'll Be In The Breadline." Recorded in 2008.
C5: Channeled from the Source for the Light that needs no name.......
D1: Recorded in D. Lee Blackwell's apartment, Seattle, 2009.
D2: Recorded at Type Foundry Studio. Portland, April 2010.
D3: Recorded October 2009, revised May 2010. _/\_ (version I) appeared previously on the Flingco Sound System compilation <a href="">"They Don't Know Unless You Tell Them."</a>
D4: Produced at Aleph Studios, Seattle. Mixed at Avast!, 2007.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (On Sticker): 8 50080 00302 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 12533-TLO04-1-A S-75281
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 12533-TLO04-1-B S-75282
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): 12533-TLO04-1-C S-75283
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): 12533-TLO04-1-D S-75284