Various ‎– Psych Funk 101

2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Husnu Ozkartal Orkestrasi Su Derenin Sulari
Arranged By – Huznu Ozkartal*
A2 Kukumbas Respect
Performer – Emmanuel KaluProducer – Dave Bennett
A3 Mulatu Astatke Feat. Belaynesh Wubante And Assegedetch Asfaw Alemiye
Piano – Mulatu AstatkeVocals – Assegedetch Asfaw, Belaynesh Wubante
A4 Kim Sun The Man Who Must Leave
Bass – Lee Tae-HyunDrums – Mun Yung-BaeFeaturing – Shin Jung Hyun And The MenGuitar, Written-By, Arranged By – Shin Jung Hyun*Organ – Kim Gi-PyuOther [Perhaps Guest Vocalists] – Kim Jung-Mi, Lim A-Yung, Jang HyunVocals – Kim Sun, Park Kwang-Su
B1 Petalouda* What You Can Do In Your Life
Performer [Include] – H. Koulumbis, L. Gerogakopoulos
B2 Mehr Pooya* Doe Pajereh / Ghabileh-ye Lily
B3 Staff Carpenborg And The Electric Corona All Men Shall Be Brothers Of Ludwig
B4 The Group* The Feed-back
Double Bass [Upright] – Walter BranchiDrums – Renzo Restuccia*Guitar – Bruno Battisti Da Mario*Keyboards, Percussion – Franco EvangelistiPercussion – Egisto MacchiPiano, Percussion – Mario BertonciniTrombone, Piano, Cello – John HeinemanTrumpet – Ennio Morricone
C1 Armando Sciascia Circuito Chiuso
Composed By, Arranged By, Conductor, Recorded By – Armando Sciascia
C2 Wadih Essafi* Aandak Baharia Ya Rayess
Synthesizer [Assumed] – Elias RahbaniVocals – Wadih Essafi*
C3 Omar Khorshid Rakset El Fadaa
Guitar – Omar Khorshid
D1 Metin H. Alatli* Mevlana Boyle Dede
Bass [Fender Jazz Bass] – Yaz BaltacigilDrums [Ludwig] – Erdogan Aktug, Veysel CadirElectric Guitar [Fender Jaguar, Telecaster Elektro], Acoustic Guitar [Gibson Dove], Bass [Gibson Les Paul], Sitar – Stephan UmutyanPerformer [Tum Taksimler] – Attila CeyhanRecorded By – Duyal Karagozoglu*, Yesil Giresunlu*Synthesizer [Arp 2600], Organ [Hammond H-112], Organ [L-220 Leslie], Sitar – Metin H. Alatli*
D2 George Garanian* With The Melodiya Jazz Ensemble* The Big Search
Arranged By – George Garanian*
D3 Eskaton Dagon
Bass – Andre Bernardi*Drums – Gerard Konig*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Piano – Marc RozenbergGuitar, Organ, Synthesizer – Gilles RozenbergVocals – Amara Tahir*, Paule Kleynnaert

Companies, etc.



A Global Psychedelic Funk Curriculum (1967-1980)

Gatefold sleeve with extended liner notes to every song.

A1 (Istanbul, Turkey) taken from the LP "Cagdas Oyun Havalari", including members of the Regal Hafif Muzik Orkestrasi. Released on Regal Records LRZTX-720. 1972
A2 (Lagos, Nigeria), taken from the 45 RPM single, personnel unknown. Released on Afrodesia 45 RPM Single DWA 34, assumed early 1970s. 45 image and recording courtesy Richard Leckie aka Heavyfuzz Aotearoa
A3 (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia), taken from the 45 RPM single, personnel unknown. Released on Philips Ethiopia 45 RPM Single 7-214, 1974. 45 recording courtesy Cut Chemist
A4 (Seoul, South Korea), taken from the LP "Kim Chu Ja with Shin Jung Hyun and The Men", released on Sung Eum Records SEL-13-06, 1969
B1 (Athens, Greece), taken from the LP "Pop Festival '73", personnel unknown. Released as a joint venture on Columbia / EMI Greece LP YGX 498, 1973
B2 (Teheran / Iran), taken from the 45 RPM single, personnel unknown. Released on SAREP-1077, 1974
B3 (Germany), taken from the LP "Fantastic Party (Die Tanzplatte Für Heisse Stunden), personnel unknown. Released on Maritim LP 47 102 NT, assumed early 1970s
B4 (Rome, Italy) taken from the LP "The Feedback", produced by JIM, released on RCA Italia PSL 104666, 1970
C1 (Milano, Italy) taken from the LP "Impressions in Rhythm And Sound", personnel unknown, recorded at Vedette Records Studios, Milan, January 1970. Released on Vedette Records VSM 38539, 1970
C2 (Beirut, Lebanon) taken from the 45 RPM Single, personell unknown. Released on Cairophon 45 RPM Single 45 C 6314, 1974
C3 (Cairo, Egypt), taken from the Sono Cairo LP "Rhythm Of The Orient", personnel unknown, release date assumed 1974
D1 (Istanbul, Turkey) taken from the LP "Alamooga Esinlenmeler - Sentetik Oyun Havalar" (translated as "Synthetic Music For Dancing"). Released on H.A.T. LP 101, assumed early 1970s
D2 (Moscow, Russia) taken from the OST LP "Romance For Two Lovers", personnel unknown, including members of the Melodiya Ensemble. Released on Melodiya LP 5289-73, 1973
D3 (Paris, France) taken from the LP "Ardeur", recorded at Studio Ramses, August 1980. Self-Released on LP E 38001, 1980. Licensed courtesy Soleil Zeuh (Alain Lebon) and Eskaton.

(p) and (c) 2009 World Psychedelic Funk Classics LLC. 2410 W. Lincoln Way, Cheyenne, WY 82001

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 9 33654 01011 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): WPFC 101 A Trutone NY Carl 6-09
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): WPFC 101 B Trutone NY Carl 6-09
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side C): WPFC 101 C Trutone NY Carl 6-09
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side D): WPFC 101 D Trutone NY Carl 6-09


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



June 28, 2016

Great songs for the most part, but man side 3 is pressed so far off center I get nauseas from the wobble. And i'm not a stickler for that stuff.


February 1, 2016
hey dudes, my copy is missing "The Group - The Feed-back" from side C. Is this missprinting common to all the copies?


January 16, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

This extraordinary psych funk compilation features some very nice and rare songs on heavy vinyl pressings with fantastic sound in a heavy cardboard gatefold sleeve! Absolutely fantastic!