Various ‎– Revolution Rock: A Clash Jukebox

Trojan Records ‎– TJZCD214, Sanctuary Records ‎– TJZCD214
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Jonathan Richman And The Modern Lovers* Roadrunner
Written-By – J. Richman*
2 The Troggs I Can't Control Myself
Written-By – Reg Presley
3 Desmond Dekker Israelites
Written-By – Leslie Kong
4 Bo Diddley You Can't Judge A Book By It's Cover
Written-By – W. Dixon*
5 The Kinks Dead End Street
Written-By – R. Davies*
6 Roger Miller King Of The Road
Written-By – R. Miller*
7 Anthony Newley Pop Goes The Weasel
Written-By – Traditional
8 Vince Taylor & His Playboys* Brand New Cadillac
Written-By – V.Taylor*
9 The Ramones* Blitzkrieg Bop
Written-By – The Ramones*
10 Junior Murvin Police And Thieves
Written-By – Murvin*, Perry*
11 Toots & The Maytals Pressure Drop
Written-By – F. Hibbert*
12 Booker T & The MG's Time Is Tight
Written-By – Booker T. Jones
13 Thunderclap Newman Something In The Air
Written-By – Speedy Keene*
14 The Bobby Fuller Four I Fought The Law
Written-By – S. Curtis*
15 Lloyd Price Stagger Lee
Written-By – L. Price*
16 The Rulers Wrong Em Boyo
Written-By – C. Alphanso*
17 Danny Ray (2) Revolution Rock
Written-By – Danny Ray (2), Jackie Edwards
18 Alton Ellis Dance Crasher
Written-By – Ellis*
19 Willie Williams* Armagideon Time
Written-By – C. S. Dodd*, Willi Williams
20 James Booker Junco Partner
Written-By – Bob Shad
21 Mose Allison Look Here
Written-By – Mose Allison


Track 7, "Pop Goes the Weasel" is an English language nursery rhyme and singing game. It has a Roud Folk Song Index number of 5249.

Clash bass guitarist, Paul Simmonon chose songs with a "Clash connection", that is, original versions of songs the band may have played or attempted in their early years. Extensive liner notes provide insight into how the songs came into the band's set list.

Track 19 Armagideon Time is credited to 'Willie Williams' on CD: correct listing is to Willi Williams aka Keith Williams. ANV's adjusted.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 050159 921423
  • Matrix / Runout (CD Mirror): TJZCD214 02
  • Other (CD Mould SID Code): IFPI DAAP
  • Other (CD Mirror SID Code): IFPI L136