Various ‎– Saigon Rock & Soul: Vietnamese Classic Tracks 1968-1974

Sublime Frequencies ‎– SF060CD
CD, Compilation, Reissue


1 CBC Band Tinh Yêu Tuyệt Vời (The Greatest Love) 3:53
2 Elvis Phương Bài Ca Ngông (The Crazy Song) 3:50
3 Carol Kim Cái Trâm Em Cài (Your Hair Clip) 4:35
4 Thành Mái Tóc Mai Sợi Vắn Sợi Dài (Long, Uneven Hair) 4:42
5 Carol Kim Nỗi Buồn Con Gái (The Sadness Of Being A Girl) 3:54
6 Bich Loan and CBC Band Con Tim Và Nước Mắt (Heart And Tears) 3:48
7 Phương Tâm Đêm Huyền Diệu (Magical Night) 4:41
8 Lệ Thu Sao Biển (Etoile Des Neiges) (Starfish) 4:54
9 Minh Xuân & Phượng Hoàng Mặt Trời Đen (Black Sun) 3:02
10 Thái Thanh Bừng Sáng (Dawn) 4:34
11 Bang Chan Những Đóm Mắt Hoả Châu (Fireballs) 3:49
12 Giao Linh Chuyện Tình Sao Ly (A Love Story From Sau Ri) 4:40
13 Elvis Phương Kho Tàng Của Chúng Ta (Our Treasures) 2:49
14 Thanh Lan Hoài Thu (Autumn Memory) 4:13
15 Hùng Cường & Mai Lệ Huyền Hờn Anh Giận Em (Jealousy) 3:24
16 Mai Lệ Huyền Duyên Phận Con Gái (A Girl's Destiny) 4:54
17 Phương Dung Đố Ai (Riddles) 4:03



Photos taken from the Sublime Frequencies archives and the archives of the CBC group in Houston, Texas.
Thanks: CBC Group (Bich Loan, Tung Linh (Michael), Marie Louise, Quang Minh, Anthony Tung Van), Frank Ford, Hisham Mayet, Anna Shelton, Jeanne Gergis & Alan Bishop.

The barcode only appears on a sticker attached to the shrinkwrap.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 51937 41502 2
  • Matrix / Runout: 2128929


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 6, 2016
edited about 1 year ago
That’s correct, doady.
There are actually two printed mistakes that I’ve unfortunately found in this otherwise good compilation:

- Track 8 is, as you say, NGÀY SAU SẼ RA SAO (HOW WILL TOMORROW TURN OUT?) by HOÀNG OANH instead of printed mistake SAO BIỂN (STARFISH) by LỆ THU

- Track 11 is ANH ĐÂU EM ĐÓ (WHERE ARE YOU WHILE I’M HERE?) by (maybe) CONNIE KIM instead of printed mistake NHỮNG ĐÓM MẮT HỎA CHÂU (FIREBALLS) by BĂNG CHÂU (Bang Chan being another typo, IMO)

I have reported these to the Sublime Frequencies label (as long with the other typos) long time ago.
They were first responsive and concerned but then I had no more news.
A more recent repress (2014) does exist but seems that it also contains the same arts with same typos and those two mistakes.


February 14, 2016
Best song here is track 8. But note that it is mislabled here. It is not any song by Lệ Thu. The song is actually "Ngày sau sẽ ra sao" by Hoàng Oanh. A very famous song among Viet people...