Various ‎– Santa Claus Blues

Jass Records ‎– JASS EIGHT
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Louis Prima What Will Santa Claus Say? (When He Finds Everybody Swingin')
A2 Clarence Williams' Trio, Louis Armstrong Santa Claus Blues
A3 Johnny Otis Happy New Year Baby
Vocals – Lem Tally
A4 Dick Robertson Meet Me Under The Mistletoe
A5 Victoria Spivey Christmas Mornin' Blues
A6 Bob Crosby Let It Snow, Let It Snow
A7 Babs Gonzales Be-Bop Santa Claus
B1 Louis Armstrong Christmas Night In Harlem
B2 Dick Robertson I Want You For Christmas
B3 Count Basie Good Morning Blues (I Want To See Santa Claus)
B4 Al Bowlly Every Day's A Holiday
B5 Woody Herman Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
B6 Benny Carter Jingle Bells
B7 Lionel Hampton Boogie Woogie Santa Claus
Vocals – Sonny Parker
B8 Jack Teagarden The Christmas Song

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork By – Milton Knight


An LP of various classic holiday recordings from the 1920's, 30's, 40's and 50's.

Pressed By uncredited, identified by runout stamp.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): J 8 A-RE EDP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): JASS 8 B EDP

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



May 11, 2012

This is a delicious album of holiday jazz music! It reels you in right from the first note that Louis Prima's gang blows. If you want a Christmas album that has that extra something special (also known as 'swing') then this is the LP for you. It's nice to break up the tempo of typical holiday hymns with this jazzier style. Many of the jazz greats have rare songs on this LP that I didn't know even existed in recording history. I love how the song selection ranges from the 1920's all the way to the 50's. Lastly I quite enjoyed the crackling quality in some of the older songs from the 20's as they were transferred from old 78 RPM records for this compilation.