Various ‎– Scenes From The X-Ray Cafe, Vol. 1

Vostok (2) ‎– 001
CD, Compilation, Stereo


01 Crunchifus Crunchifriends 3:21
02 No Artist Scene 1 0:57
03 Green Lawns Streets 3:34
04 No Artist Scene 2 1:37
05 The QRM Dead Straight 5:48
06 No Artist Scene 3 1:16
07 Paul Thomas (10) Drag Dub 3:58
08 No Artist Scene 4 0:59
09 The Noisettes Sovietski 6:57
10 No Artist Scene 5 1:03
11 Manipulated Sound Source About Velocity 6:50
12 No Artist Scene 6 1:05
13 Felt Battery The Tin Forest 5:20
14 MonkE Corn On The Cob 7:53


Beginning in November 2003, several musicians producing experimental, ambient, and pop electronica in Athens, GA began holding monthly multimedia gigs at a local coffee shop owned and operated by Paul Thomas. As the shows grew in size and scope, the idea of taking a recorded snapshot of the events soon took hold. Laid down along with snippets of conversations and native ambience, Scenes From The X-Ray Café, Vol. 1 captures some of the vibe of those evenings by focusing on a few of the regular artists that made these performances special. Included herein are local ambient Gods (the Noisettes), the best kept pop secret in the city (Green Lawns), cut and paste wizards (Paul Thomas, Manipulated Sound Source), one psychedelic big beats lover (The QRM), and various sirens of abstract circuitry (MonkE, Felt Battery, Crunchifus). This first release also contains two specially produced Quicktime films, and a nifty Flash instrument for listeners to play along with. It's as close to having been there as you can get without a TARDIS.