Various ‎– Secret Weapons EP (Part Two)

Innervisions ‎– INNERVISIONS14, Innervisions ‎– IV14
2 × Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, EP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 DJ Disciple Meets David Tort & DJ Ruff Crossroads
Producer – DJ Disciple, David Tort & DJ Ruff
A2 Lost Heroes Bambatta
Keyboards [Additional] – Jean Michel Lapointe*Recorded By, Mixed By – King TutuWritten-By, Arranged By, Producer – Christian Pronovost
B1 Melon (4) Nitzi (In My Mind, So Fine)
Written-By, Producer – Jeroen Hofer
B2 Roberto Auser Crossroads
Written-By, Producer – R. Auser*
C1 Stephan Hill & Koljah Nonresponder
Written-By, Producer – Koljah, Stephan Hill
C2 Alix Alvarez Ugly
Written-By, Producer, Mixed By – Alix Alvarez
D1 Nina Simone Here Comes The Sun (Francois K. Remix)
Performer [Vocals] – Nina SimoneRemix – Francois K.*Written-By – G. Harrison*
D2 DJ Mbuso Feat. Shembe Ukukholwa Kuwe (To Believe In You)
Written-By, Producer – Mbuso N. Tulwana*, Shembe

Companies, etc.



A1: 128bpm
A2: 124bpm
B1: 124bpm
B2: 109bpm
C1: 128bpm
C2: 126bpm
D1: 120bpm
D2: 125bpm

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 81045801044
  • Rights Society: GEMA



Add Review



March 22, 2008
As they say about many double albums in rock history: it could have been great if they just took the best tracks and made it a single one.

Same goes for this double EP.

A1 "Crossroads" is a typical Innervisions-style stomper. Great build, massive drive and everything in the right place. Exactly what you might expect from this label.
A2 "Bambatta" combines very basic synthlines (too basic for me) with a KenLou-style drum, but it's just not loose enough to swing properly. All in all pretty poor, but listenable.
B1 "Nitzi" is a fine production, but nothing special happens. Good enough for a b-side on my proposed single vinyl version.
B2 "Crossroads" sounds like Carl Craig havin' a bad day. A rejected track from the Landcruising-album. Dark, heavy synths that sound quite impressive, but just don't go anywhere. Nice try, but I'll never play this for fun.
C1 "Nonresponder" is a nice minimal builder, although the drums sound a bit simple. Again, nice for the b-side.
C2 "Ugly" is minimal in the way that the performer put a minimal of effort in it to create something special. A waste of space on any vinyl, in my opinion, but especially if it's released by Innervisions. I can't believe the label didn't get any better demo's than this.
D1 "Here comes the sun" is a very beautiful, deep tune, although it's a bit of a weird one on this EP. Typical François K. sound, although the mastering is a bit poor; on a big soundsystem the high end completely drowns in all this whirling bass.
D2 "Ukukholwa Kuwe" is nice 'n dubby, a sort of crossover between house and dubstep. The beats could've been a bit more refined, but all in all it's got a good drive.

In short, A1 and D1 are the only two tracks that I would buy if they came out seperately; C1, D2 and B1 are good enough to feature on the B-side. After all 20 euros was a bit overprized for what this EP offers, and in general it's not really up to the standards of the label.