Various ‎– Sequence4

Futuresequence ‎– SEQ004
42 × File, FLAC, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Bengalfuel Bajang 2:22
2 Black Elk (3) Myst 5:51
3 Wolf Maps Arc 3:42
4 Michael Oldham Furthermost 4:26
5 Nobuto Suda Lyricism Of The Light 4:54
6 Wil Bolton Umbra 5:05
7 A-Sun Amissa Arm In Arm To A Full Awakening 7:58
8 Hills and Valley Bells 8:59
9 Hakobune I 7:44
10 Johnny_Ripper I'm Not Here 4:10
11 Loscil Halocline 4:10
12 Zvuku Northking (Part 1) 5:52
13 Porya Hatami Winter 7:16
14 Anna Rose Carter Two For Joy (Ed Hamilton Edit)
Edited By – Ed Hamilton (6)
15 Pleq + Philippe Lamy White Hole (Excerpt) 9:08
16 Mere I 9:40
17 Accelra Burial 6:42
18 Climbing On Rooftops Motionless 7:01
19 J Butler* Grey 4:11
20 Richard Knox & Frederic D Oberland* Drawing Lines To The End Of The World 7:00
21 Ioflow Impermanence 2:15
22 Neue (2) Pluto 4:04
23 Damian Valles Night Visions 8:55
24 Waves On Canvas Still (For Pieter Nooten) 5:58
25 Aquarelle (3) Pale And Constant 6:15
26 Apta Shadows 6:08
27 Le Berger Internal Struggles [The Future. The End] 7:13
28 Guy Birkin Ptinid 4:26
29 Danny Clay Too Little 3:43
30 The OO-Ray Diplodocus 5:36
31 Fontaine (3) Milk 8:00
32 Raven (2) Sleeping Dogs Lie 7:57
33 Pineptones (2) Mutual Funds 6:43
34 I've Lost Looking At The Sky 6:48
35 Sunset Mission Way 3:32
36 Daniel Thomas Freeman* When The Rains Fall (Last Minute Mix) 6:36
37 Jerome Faria Sustain I 7:37
38 Yakobfinga In A Birdless Dawn 11:10
39 Heinali Music To Sleep Under Snow 7:37
40 Radere Burn The Mountain 9:53
41 Voder Gramophone Lullaby 4:30
42 Nanga Parbat Pilgrimage Silbersattel 2:29

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SEQ004 Various Sequence4(42xFile, ALAC, Comp) Futuresequence SEQ004 UK 2012
SEQ004 Various Sequence4(42xFile, MP3, Comp, 320) Futuresequence SEQ004 UK 2012



Add Review



August 11, 2012
When I first came upon the debut compilation from Futuresequence, I was introduced to many previously unknown to me artists. A few tracks really stood out, and later proved worthy of my further exploration. For example, names like Anenon, Sun Hammer, Radere, Zvuku, and Widesky are all part of my collection now, thanks to the hard work of this independent magazine, which switched its focus to become an independent label as of 2012. For the fourth FREE installment, appropriately titled Sequence4, the series doesn’t show any signs of slowing down and churns out an incredible collection of 42 tracks. Here, once again, are pieces by some of my already favorite artists, such as Bengalfuel, Wil Bolton, Loscil, A-Sun Amissa and Pleq, with over 30 additional names that I haven’t heard of before! The tone is set by a gentle gray drone from Bengalfuel and moves into an organic textured journey through blissful airy pieces by Black Elk, Wolf Maps, Michael Oldham and Nobuto Suda. As the music evolves I forget that I’m actually listening to a collection of tracks from various artists – a testament to a fine selection by Futuresequence that represent a particular aesthetic it tries to express. The minimal ambiance among the pieces is achieved with a strum of guitars, single key piano notes, aching string bows, and a crackle of vinyl. This meditative narrative continues throughout the release, introducing my ears to the sound of Hills and Valley, Johnny_Ripper, Porya Hatami and Anna Rose Carter. By the time I get to collaboration between Pleq and Philippe Lamy, my mind is totally subdued, where it rests in a hammock of sub-bass frequencies of “White Hole” for a bit over nine minutes, and I realize that even though I’ve been listening to Sequence4 for over an hour and fifteen minutes, I’m only a third through the whole compilation! That’s right, this absolutely FREE release is over four hours (and twenty minutes) long! A perfect companion for your headphone commute – or better yet, a continental flight!