Various ‎– Sound Box 1.0

Kiasma ‎– 1998
CD, CD-ROM, Compilation, Multimedia


1 Jon Appleton San Francisco Airport Rock
2 Steven Baun I'll Make It Right
3 Michele Biasutti Tavola VII
4 Warren Burt Scraps from the Lab Floor
5 Lieven Bertels Paper Mate 2000 Nylon
6 Charles Bestor Into the Labyrinth
7 Massimo Biasioni Nell'inevitabile e profondo tedio del cristallo
8 Eric Chasalow Left to His Own Devices
9 Chin-Chin Chen Points of No Return
10 Crawling with Tarts Motors
11 John Levack Drever Butterfly Lovers
12 Diego Garro Voci dall' Aldiqua
13 Francesco Giomi That's all folks!
14 Hanna Hartman Are You Going Up These Hills?
15 Sung Ho Hwang TV Scherzo
16 Jerome Joy Megaphonies
17 Elsa Justel Au Loin... Bleu
18 Keiichi Kitahara Metamorphosis
19 Claire Laronde Meme les pierres parleront
20 Jim Metzner Sound Memories
21 Robert Normandeau Spleen
22 Ed Osborn Nocturne
23 Nye Parry Grand Junction
24 Gianantonio Patella Radio Viaggio
25 David Prior Hymne an die Materie
26 Pedro Rebelo Forking Paths Virtual Mix
27 David Rothenberg & Douglas Quin Toothwalking
28 Jøran Rudi Planet (Terra)
29 Philip Samartzis Dark Woods
30 Riccardo Santoboni Clarix II
31 Claude Schryer El Medio Ambiente Acustico de Mexico
32 Jarmo Sermilä Incubo di Orfeo
33 Pete Stollery Altered Images
34 System Error Enough Already
35 System Error Nextone
36 Jörgen Teller 14 trax and a hut
37 Michael Turnbull Wall goes a Shadow
38 Mario Verandi Frequences de Barcelone
39 Neil Wiernik Aural Snapshots #3: Quebec City
40 John Wynne James Kamutho Kimani



Sound Box 1.0 is an international collection of sound art and electronic works, which contained presentation of the sonic works and was presented over the internet during Spring and Summer of 1998. The project was curated by composer, sound artist Petri Kuljuntausta, and the multimedia presentation of the sonic works was designed by Aki Kivelä (Wizbang).

Sound Box 1.0 was the the first public art project of Kiasma, Museum Of Contemporary Art, Helsinki, as the project was open over the internet few weeks before the actual opening of the new museum building.

The Sound Box 1.0 CD-rom is identical copy of the net project. The CD-rom was printed for archive use of Kiasma and it was originally distributed only for the participating artists.