Various ‎– Sound

Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Jim Hobart Maraca Instrument 1:47
A2 Bob Bates (2) Force Field
Performer – Gail Bates
A3 Richard Dunlap (2) The Rubber Band 1:58
A4 Joan La Barbara Q-uatre Petites Betes
Composed By, Performer – Joan La Barbara
A5 Ron George Improvisation 1:54
A6 Ivor Darreg Composition For Turkish-Fretless Banjo 2:08
A7 Bob Wilhite Two Spinners
Performer – David Sabol
A8 Jim Gordon (2) Piece For Synthesizers, Computers And Other Instruments 1:43
A9 Paul De Marinis* Pygmy Gamelan Goes To Art 1:59
A10 Jim Pomeroy Back On The Ladder, The Beat Goes On 2:09
A11 Yoshi Wada An Adapted Bag With Sympathy III 2:02
A12 Christina Kubisch Tempo Liquido
Steel Drums, Electronics, Carillon, Idiophone [Amplified Glass Sheets], Sho – Christina Kubisch
A13 Gerald Oshita Water Preludes
Brass [Sarousaphone] – Gerald Oshita
B1 Tom Jenkins (4) One Man Band
Performer [Assorted Sound-making Devices] – Tom Jenkins (4)
B2 Bill Fontana Kirribilli Wharf 2:05
B3 Doug Hollis Aeolian Harp 2:09
B4 Tom Marioni Drop Brushing 1:01
B5 Terry Fox Labyrinth Scored For II Cats 1:56
B6 Tom Recchion Solos
Performer [Strung A Phone] – Tom Recchion
B7 Alex Bernstein L.A. Proper
Performer [Isolette Incubator] – Alex Bernstein
B8 Karen Wolff* / William Kingsbury Double Crossing 1:51
B9 Bruce Fier Score For Eleven Infinite Rainbows 2:02
B10 Susan Rawcliffe Trix Ocarinas
Composed By – Anna Rubin
B11 Will Parsons / Grace Bell Road Runner / L.A. 2:07
B12 Dennis Evans Location #2 0:53
B13 John Duncan / Michael leDonne-Bhennet* Koko Weef 6038 1:59



Album produced for SOUND. An exhibition of sound sculpture, instrument building and acoustically tuned spaces. Los Angeles Institute of Contemporary Art July 14-August 31, 1979. P.S.I. New York, September 30-November 18, 1979.

Sponsored in part by a grant from the museum programs of the national endowment for the arts, a federal agency in Washington, D.C., and the city of Los Angeles Ceta Arts Program.

A2 played on the Fuser, 1979.
A3 composed 1972. A8, A9, A10 composed 1979.
A11 composed May 6, 1979.
A13 composed 1978.
B3 composed 1975-76 at the San Francisco Exploreatorium.
B4 composed 1972 in Edinburgh, Scotland.
B9 composed at the Union Gallery, San Jose State University, 1977.
B10 composed at ICA Concert, Larchmont Center for Yoga, L.A. 1978.

A1, A3, A4, A5, A6, A10, A11, A12, B1, B2, B3, B6, B7, B8, B9, B10, B11, B13 selections taken from longer pieces.

B12 subtitled Western Union Sound Studies.