Various ‎– Sounds Of New York, U.S.A. Volume 1 - The Big Break Rapper Party

Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Misprint

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Chain Reaction Dance Freak
Producer – Dwight Brewster, Harold Sergent*
A2 Spoonin Gee* Spoonin' Rap
A3 Willie Wood & Willie Wood Crew Willie Rap
Arranged By – Kevin Johnson (2)Producer – Dwight Brewster
B1 Scoopy Scoopy Rap
B2 Family (4) Family Rap
Producer – Harvey Miller
B3 Cloud One Patty Duke (Instrumental)
B4 Johnson Products Johnson Jumpin'


  • Arranged ByFrank* (tracks: A2, B1-B4)
  • ProducerPeter Brown (tracks: A2-B4)


Compilation produced by Peter Brown
Arranged by Peter Brown & Michael Campell
Published by Sound Around Town (BMI)
Distributed by Queen Constance Records

All tracks originally released on Sound of New York, USA
A1-A3 are Sound of New York, USA releases 707-709
B1-B4 are Sound of New York, USA releases 701-704

All production credited on compilation to Peter Brown and Lonnie Johnson
except "Family Rap" by Peter Brown and Harvey Miller
Productions credits used here taken from original 12" single credits and other sources

Front and Back cover images identical
Labels printed wrong way round
Release date not specified but is probably late 1979/early 1980
Run-out groove marking: "F/W NY HP" (presumably Herb Powers of Frankford-Wayne, NYC)

A3 erroneously credited on cover as "Woody Rap" by Woody Wood & The Wood Crew
B1 erroneously credited on cover as "A Scoopy Rap"
B4 erroneously credited on cover as "Jonnson Product" by Johnson Jumping and (on label only) as "Johnson Jump"

B3 is instrumental of A2, B1, B2
B4 is instrumental of A3

Super J "Santa's Rap Party" credited on cover (and on label as "Santa Rap") but does not appear