Various ‎– Spawn The Album

Immortal Records (3) ‎– EK 68494, Epic ‎– EK 68494, Sony Music Soundtrax ‎– EK 68494, Immortal Records (3) ‎– CTDP 000125, Epic ‎– CTDP 000125, Sony Music Soundtrax ‎– CTDP 000125
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Filter (2) & The Crystal Method (Can't You) Trip Like I Do
Mixed By – Ben GrosseWritten-By, Recorded By, Producer – Filter (2), The Crystal Method
2 Marilyn Manson & Sneaker Pimps Long Hard Road Out Of Hell
Co-producer – Sneaker PimpsEngineer [Asistant] – Devon Kirkpatrick, Tony GiampaoloLyrics By – M. Manson*Mixed By, Engineer – Sean BeavanMusic By – T. Ramirez*Producer – Marilyn Manson (2), Sean Beavan
3 Orbital & Kirk Hammett Satan
Engineer [Additional] – Francis Buckley, Kent Matke*Producer [Additional For Spawn] – Graeme RevellWritten-By, Producer – P & P Hartnoll*
4 Korn & The Dust Brothers Kick The P.A.
Mixed By – The Dust BrothersProducer – Korn, The Dust BrothersRecorded By [Additional] – Josh AbrahamWritten-By – Korn, The Dust Brothers
5 Butthole Surfers & Moby Tiny Rubberband
Producer, Mixed By – The Butthole Surfers*Written-By – Butthole Surfers, R. Hall*
6 Metallica & DJ Spooky For Whom The Bell Tolls (The Irony Of It All)
Bass – DJ SpookyEngineer – Chris FlamProducer – MetallicaProducer [Additional] – D. J. Spooky*Written-By – C. Burton*, J. Hetfield*, L. Ulrich*
7 Stabbing Westward & Wink* Torn Apart
Producer, Mixed By – Josh Wink, Stabbing WestwardWritten-By – Wink*, Stabbing Westward
8 Mansun & 808 State Skin Up Pin Up
Mixed By – The Baron*, Mansun, Mike Hunter*Producer – 808 State, Paul DraperWritten-By – A. Barker*, D. Partington*, G. Massey*, P. Draper*
9 Prodigy* & Tom Morello One Man Army
Producer, Mixed By – Liam HowlettWritten-By – L. Howlett*, T. Morello*
10 Silverchair & Vitro Spawn
Producer – Silverchair, VitroRemix – VitroWritten-By – B. Gillies*, D. Johns*
11 Henry Rollins & Goldie T-4 Strain
Engineer, Mixed By – Rob PlayfordProducer – Goldie, Rob PlayfordWritten-By – Goldie, H. Rollins*
12 Incubus (2) & D.J. Greyboy* Familiar
Producer – Jim WirtWritten-By – A. Katunich*, A. Stevens*, B. Boyd*, G. Koppel*, J. Pasillas*, M. Einziger*
13 Slayer & Atari Teenage Riot No Remorse (I Wanna Die)
Producer, Mixed By – Alec EmpireWritten-By – A. Empire*, J. Hanneman*, K. King*, T. Araya*
14 Soul Coughing & Roni Size A Plane Scraped It's Belly On A Sooty Yellow Moon
Lyrics By – M. Doughty*Mixed By – Roni SizeMusic By – Roni Size, Soul CoughingProducer – Roni Size, Soul Coughing

Companies, etc.



Mastered at Precision Mastering, Hollywood.

Includes exclusive mini-poster by Todd McFarlane.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 7464-68494-2 2
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L423
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): CTDP-000125 F3 1A 01
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): CTDP-000125 F3 1A 03
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): CTDP-000125 F3 1A 04
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 7266
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 7248
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 7285
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 7223

Other Versions (5 of 45) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year 
EK 68898 Various Spawn (The Album)(CD, Album) Immortal Records (3), Epic Soundtrax, Sony Music Soundtrax EK 68898 Australia 1997 Sell This Version
EK 68494 Various Spawn The Album(CD, Comp) Immortal Records (3), Epic Soundtrax, Sony Music Soundtrax EK 68494 Australia 1997 Sell This Version
31-003163-20, XPR 3163, none Various Spawn (The Album)(2x12", Album, Comp, Promo) Sony Music Soundtrax, Epic, Immortal Records (3) 31-003163-20, XPR 3163, none Europe 1997 Sell This Version
KPAMC A-059 Various Spawn The Album(Cass, Comp, Unofficial) K.P.A. Records KPAMC A-059 Russia 1997 Sell This Version
none Various Spawn (The Album)(Cass, Comp, Unofficial) Moon Records (2) none Ukraine 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 5, 2006
edited over 13 years ago
On paper it sounds great - rock/metal heavyweights collaborating with electronic ones. In reality, it doesn't work most of the time.
Although rock/electronic collaborations were done before (think Pierre Henry/Spooky Tooth record from 1970, which reportedly wasn't extremely succesful), there was nothing similar done on a massive scale and with so many big names. Also, pairing of musicians might raise some eyebrows.
Returning to compilation itself - there are no terrible/irritating tracks, but nothing that stands out either (ok, although i admit that the most well-known track here (Filter/Chrystal Method collaboration) is quite energetic). Aside from that, i have a feeling that a lot of tracks weren't real collaborations, but rather remixes/remakes of originals (especially "For Whom The Bell Tolls" and "Satan").
The only track that's missing from most of Spawn copies is collaboration by Morphine and Apollo 440, which i'm not familiar with. But even if it sounds better than most tracks here, i doubt that it might save this soundtrack from sounding mediocre for the most part.