Various ‎– Speakeasy Acid Jazz

Moonshine Music ‎– MM 80025-2
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Mark V (2) It's Hip It's Hot It's Jazz 4:54
2 Toledo Saxface 3:52
3 The Broun Fellinis* Zoomin 4:41
4 Birds Word Funky Me
Featuring – Kellee
5 Hip Hop Giants Pele 7:40
6 Tuba* Back To The One 6:25
7 Snake Eye Brotherhood 4:49
8 Freedom Of Knowledge Hip Bop Jazz 4:14
9 Richard Worth No Reason 6:04
10 Philadelphia Bluntz Dum Dum Dum 7:12
11 New Jazz Movement Final Verses 7:00

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 85688 00252 1

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Add Review



October 14, 2017

My August 1995 review of this album:

Summary: weak acid jazz compilation, better suited to fans of hip-hop oriented and vocal acid jazz

The opening cut, Mark V's "Its Hip Its Hot Its Jazz" teasingly fools me into believing I've stumbled across a great acid jazz compilation. Wrong! After the catchy bass and piano grooves, soaring trumpet solo, and multi-timbral percussion breaks of that first track, I'm expecting to hear some more jazz somewhere on the disc.. but no! Toledo bores with tired funk, The Brown Fellinis irritate with pointless rhyming, Hip Hop Giants and New Jazz movement take it a step further with slow rap (and not very good, at that) over *yawn* loops that are about as jazzy as the dirt in my belly button. Birds Word featuring Kellee do slightly better with a loungey vocal not unlike that heard in 9 gazillion tv shows set in New York City since "Moonlighting". Snake Eye do well with an instrumental that sounds a lot like the JB's in parts, with short horn solos and sampled drum fills. Overall, though, this compilation is so hip-hop oriented and devoid of innovation that I can only say listen before you buy.