Various ‎– Speed Trials

Homestead Records ‎– HMS 011
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Fall Tempo House
Bass – Steve Hanley*Drums – Karl Burns, Paul HanleyGuitar, Vocals – Craig ScanlonVocals – Mark E. SmithWritten-By – Smith*, S. Hanley*
A2 The Fall Smile
Bass – Steve Hanley*Drums – Karl Burns, Paul HanleyGuitar, Vocals – Craig ScanlonVocals – Mark E. SmithWritten-By – Scanlon*, Smith*
A3 Beastie Boys Egg Raid On Mojo
Bass – Adam Youch*Drums – Kate SchellenbachGuitar – Adam O'KeefeVocals – Michael Diamond (3)Written-By – Beastie Boys
A4 Live Skull I Was Wrong
Drums – James LoGuitar – Mark C*, T. Paine*Vocals, Bass – Marnie GreenholzWritten-By – Live Skull
A5 Sonic Youth Dig This!
Drums – Bob BertGuitar – Lee RanaldoGuitar, Vocals, Bass – Thurston MooreVocals, Bass, Guitar – Kim GordonWritten-By – Sonic Youth
B1 Lydia Lunch Main Kelly And Me On A Bender
Guitar, Voice [Dialog] – Norman WestbergPercussion – Roli MosimannPerformer [Metal] – Michael GiraVocals – Lydia LunchVoice [Pig Calls] – Frankie (3)Written-By – Lunch*
B2 Carbon* YTYKYD
Drums – Jonathon Kane*Guitar [Fretless], Voice – Elliot Sharp*Other – HammersteinSteel Drums – Rick BrownWritten-By – Sharp*
B3 Swans Weakling
Bass – Harry CrosbyDrums – Jonathon Kane*Guitar – Norman WestbergPercussion – Roli MosimannVocals, Bass – Michael GiraWritten-By – Gira*, Swans
B4 Toy Killers Victimless Crime
Drums – Charles K. NoyesGuitar – Thi Linh-Li*Guitar, Vocals – Arto LindsayWritten-By – Susie Timmons

Companies, etc.



"SPEED TRIALS was a 5-day festival of music and performance held May 4-8 at White Columns gallery in New York City. Over 100 musicians, dancers and artists were featured, encompassing a wide range of styles, attitudes and ideas. This record does not attempt to document the whole scope of SPEED TRIALS (a complete documentation would obviously have been impossible), but focuses on a few specific bands and the music they were making at that time: SELF-BAITING, PAINFULLY RAW AND DELIRIOUSLY CLEAR."

Sonic Youth's track is a collage of five different songs ("She's in a Bad Mood," "Confusion is Next," "Shaking Hell," "The World Looks Red," and "The Burning Spear") edited into one piece.

Recorded at White Columns, NYC May 4-8 1983.
Mixed at Wharton's Studio, NYC.

Beastie Boys appear courtesy of Rat Cage Records.

(p) 1984 LSR Records Inc
(c) Composers / Publishers
Manufactured and distributed by Dutch East India Trading.
A CodexCo production.

Back cover: Made in the U.K.
Labels: Made In England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 Run-Out, Hand-Etched): MPO HMS 011 A¹
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 Run-Out, Hand-Etched): MPO HMS 011 B¹
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 Run-Out, Hand-Etched): A PORKY PRIME CUT.
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HMS011C Various Speed Trials(Cass, Comp) Homestead Records HMS011C US 1984 Sell This Version
HMS011 Various Speed Trials(LP, Comp, RP) Homestead Records HMS011 US 1989 Sell This Version