Various ‎– Spirit Of Talk Talk

Fierce Panda ‎– NONG74CD
2 × CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1-1 Lone Wolf (4) Wealth
Instruments, Vocals – Paul Marshall (2)Recorded By, Mixed By – James Kenosha
1-2 Zero 7 Feat. Only Girl The Colour Of Spring
Producer – Zero 7
1-3 S. Carey (2) I Believe In You
Bass – Jeremy BoettcherElectronics – Ben Lester*Flute [Bass] – Lexi ZunkerGuitar – Dean Granros, Nick Ball (3)Mixed By – Zach HansonPercussion, Voice – S. Carey (2)Recorded By – S. Carey (2)
1-4 Recoil Feat. Shara Worden Dum Dum Girl
Arranged By, Producer – Alan WilderBass – John Mckenzie*Drums [Drum Sources] – Steven Monti*Guitar, Backing Vocals – David RhodesHarp – Gaynor SadlerPercussion – Martin DitchamSound Designer [Additional] – Paul KendallStrings [Electric], Strings [Acoustic] – Davide RossiVocals – Shara Worden
1-5 Duncan Sheik Life's What You Make It
Backing Vocals – Rachael YamagataMixed By, Mastered By – Michael TudorProducer – Duncan SheikVocals, Guitar, Piano, Dulcimer, Harmonium, Effects [Tape Echo] – Duncan Sheik
1-6 Thomas Feiner, Fyfe Dangerfield, Robbie Wilson (3) The Rainbow
Co-producer – Fyfe Dangerfield, Robbie Wilson (3)Producer – Thomas FeinerVocals [Female] – Kristin McClementVocals, Guitar – Fyfe Dangerfield, Robbie Wilson (3)Vocals, Instruments – Thomas Feiner
1-7 Halloween, Alaska After The Flood
Bass, Voice – William ShawDrums – David KingGuitar, Voice – Jacob HansonRecorded By, Mixed By – Paul MarinoVoice, Synthesizer, Organ, Piano – James Diers
1-8 Nils Frahm, Peter Broderick, Davide Rossi It's Getting Late In The Evening
Mixed By – Nils FrahmPiano, Synthesizer, Percussion – Nils FrahmStrings – Davide RossiVocals, Choir, Percussion – Peter Broderick
1-9 King Creosote Give It Up
Performer, Recorded By – King Creosote
1-10 Lights (5) Feat. Darkstars Living In Another World
Instruments – Darkstars, Lights (5)Mixed By – Dave FordProducer – Darkstars, Lights (5)
1-11 Zelienople The Rainbow
Percussion – Mike WeisRecorded By – Matt ChristensenSaxophone – Brian HardingVocals, Guitar – Matt Christensen
1-12 Joan As Police Woman Myrrhman
Drums – Shahzad IsmailyEngineer, Mixed By – Adam SachsPercussion – Adam SachsProducer – Adam Sachs, Joan WasserVocals, Piano, Strings, Synthesizer [Moog], Guitar, Percussion – Joan Wasser
1-13 The Last Dinosaur Runeii
Electric Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drums, Percussion, Loops, Vocals – Jamie CameronProducer, Mixed By – Jamie CameronViola – Rachel Lanskey
1-14 Jack Northover ?
Producer – Jack Northover
2-1 The TenFiveSixty It's My Life
Bass, Guitar – Rick HornbyDrums, Percussion – Sebastian SternbergEngineer [Recording] – Tom Bailey (2)Producer, Engineer [Mix] – Duncan MillsVocals, Guitar – Jen Bailey
2-2 Recoil Feat. Linton Kwesi Johnson & Paul Marshall (2) Inheritance
Arranged By, Producer – Alan WilderBass, Loops [Additional] – Dean GarciaEngineer [Greenmount Studios] – Jamie LockheartEngineer [RAK Studios] – Rob MacFarlaneGuitar [Additional Guitar Source] – Oisin LunnyVocals – Paul Marshall (2)Voice [Spoken Word] – Linton Kwesi Johnson
2-3 Turin Brakes Ascension Day
Performer, Producer – Turin Brakes
2-4 White Belt Yellow Tag Today
Performer, Producer – White Belt Yellow Tag
2-5 Ian Curnow Feat. Human (18) I Don't Believe In You
Electric Guitar, Backing Vocals – David RhodesLead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Melodica, Glockenspiel – Human (18)Mixed By – Dave FordProducer – Ian CurnowProgrammed By, Engineer [Recording], Percussion [Desktop], Drums [Music Stand Drum], Bass [Electric Fan Bass], Backing Vocals – Ian CurnowStrings – Ellie Wyatt
2-6 Goldheart Assembly Chameleon Day
Drums, Percussion – Nicky FrancisGuitar – Dominic Keshavarz, Kyle Hall (3)Mixed By – James DalePiano, Keyboards – Jake BowserProducer, Engineer – Goldheart Assembly, Toby Gmür*Vocals, Bass – James DaleVocals, Guitar – John Herbert (4)
2-7 Matthias Vogt Trio April 5th
Arranged By – Matthias VogtBass [Upright] – Andreas MannsDrums – Volker SchmidtGrand Piano – Matthias VogtRecorded By – Heinz Hess
2-8 Do Make Say Think New Grass
Bass – Tyler BelluzDrums, Percussion – Dave*Drums, Recorded By – Jimmy*Featuring – Del BelGuitar, Engineer, Mixed By – Ohad*Guitar, Noises, Vocals – Justin*Mixed By [Re-Interpreting] – Charles*Pedal Steel Guitar – Mike Brooks (10)Trumpet – Ira ZingraffViola – Laura Bates
2-9 Jason Lytle Tomorrow's Started
Performer, Recorded By, Producer, Mixed By – Jason Lytle
2-10 White Lies (2) Give It Up
Producer, Mixed By – White Lies (2)
2-11 Lia Ices Time It's Time
Producer, Engineer – Eliot Kessel, Lia Ices
2-12 The Lovetones The Party's Over
Mixed By – Liam JudsonPerformer – The LovetonesRecorded By – Matthew Sigley
2-13 Thomas White (2) Candy
Recorded By, Mixed By – Thomas White (2)
2-14 The Black Ships (2) Feat. Amelia Tucker Renée
Musician [The Black Ships Are] – Davide Rossi, Michele Schillace, Nick McCabe, Simon JonesProducer – Nick McCabe
2-15 The Acorn Taphead
Acoustic Guitar, Bass – Rolf KlausenerDrums, Percussion – Patrick Johnson*Engineer, Mixed By – Rolf KlausenerSynthesizer [Mini-Korg, Micro-Korg] – Adam Saikale
2-16 Richard Reed Parry I Believe In You
Performer – Richard Reed ParryProducer [Additional], Mixed By – Alan Wilder, Paul KendallRecorded By – Pietro Amato, Richard Reed Parry

Companies, etc.



Released in a triple gatefold cardsleeve.

All net profits go to The Rare Bird Club of BirdLife International for bird conservation UK reg charity no. 1042125.
(p) & (c) 2012 Fierce Panda Records "18 Years of Ear-Flossing Palavers".
Made in England.

This tribute is dedicated to Mark Hollis & Talk Talk.
The cover illustration was originaly designed in 1983 for an album called 'Chameleon Hour', which was never released.
In 1984 the illustration was used for a video release called Talk Talk.

1-1: recorded & mixed at The Lodge, Birdlington
1-4: recorded & mixed at The Thin Line, Sussex
1-5: recorded & mixed at Sneaky Studios, Garrison, NY
1-8: mixed at Durtin studio, Berlin
1-12: engineered & mixed at Trout Recording, Brooklyn
1-14: pre-mastered by Airshow Mastering, Boulder, Colorado
2-2: recorded & mixed at The Thin Line, Sussex. Linton Kwesi Johnson vocals recorded at RAK Studios, London. Paul Marshall vocals recorded at Greenmount Studios, Leeds.
2-6: recorded at Chevalec Studios, Lucerne
2-7: recorded at Art Of June Studio, Frankfurt
2-13: recorded at the White House
2-15: recorded at Florence Gardens, Ottawa
2-16: additional production & mixed at The Thin Line, Sussex

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 020422 097421
  • Label Code: LC-14136
  • Matrix / Runout (CD 1): Key Production manufacturing for music and media KEY NONG74CD
  • Matrix / Runout (CD 2): Key Production manufacturing for music and media KEY NONG74CD-2
  • Mastering SID Code (CD1 & CD2): IFPI LP76
  • Mould SID Code (CD1 & CD2): IFPI 5H42

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Various Spirit Of Talk Talk(33xFile, WAV, Album) Fierce Panda none Europe 2012
nong74cd Various Spirit Of Talk Talk(CDr, Album, Promo, Smplr) Fierce Panda nong74cd UK 2012 Sell This Version
none Various Spirit Of Talk Talk(33xFile, AAC, Album, 256) Fierce Panda none UK & Europe 2012


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 3, 2019
This is an excellent record but might take a few listens to begin to appreciate. It would be disappointing if potential listeners are put off by the 'boring' comment of the first reviewer. I purchased this CD back in 2016 and it has been on my favorites pile ever since.


January 2, 2013
30 covers and they are all boring. Fortunately more imaginative people we're also inspired by Talk Talk. The only thing you want to do when listening to this is to put on a record by Talk Talk themselves.