Various ‎– Strange Babies Who Cry Rock - A Detroit Compilation

Pull Light Records ‎– P/L 1002, Pull/Light Records ‎– P/L 1002
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Western Block (2) Freedom
Bass – Skid MarxVocals – Rockee Berlin
A2 Syntax Error (11) Things People Say
Drum Programming – Howard GlazerGuitar – Howard GlazerGuitar Synthesizer – Howard Glazer
A3 Tension (18) The Fear
A4 Ragged Truth Can You Hear The Bells?
A5 Howard Glazer 313 Misery
Drum Machine – Howard GlazerGuitar – Howard GlazerVocals – Howard Glazer
B1 Johnny Allen And The Appeal / Johnny Allen & The Appeal Standing In The Line Of Fire
Lead Guitar – Howard Glazer
B2 What If Thinking You Don't Have The Nerve
Guitar Synthesizer – Howard GlazerLead Guitar – Howard GlazerRhythm Guitar – Gail Baker*Vocals – Gail Baker*
B3 Shouting Club The Bell Song
B4 Last Cavalry Pretty In Vain
B5 Funhouse (13) Winter In Alaska
B6 Vibratory Synod Detroit


very rare and extremely obscure Detroit compilation called Strange Babies Who Cry Rock. This was released in 1987 on Pull Light Records. Most of the tracks on his record feature Howard Glazer, who was a member of the synthpop band What If Thinking (who have a track on this LP). There are also two songs that are essentially solo songs by him (a song under his name and a song with another vocalist, where they call themselves "Syntax Error"), featuring manual and programmed drum machines, synthesizers, and guitars. And what Detroit comp would be complete without a hard rock/metal song to close out the record? The final song (by a band with the perplexing-but-kinda-cool name Vibratory Synod) is a great midtempo rocker with squealing guitars. Elsewhere there are some great new wave, indie, and post punk songs.