Various ‎– Street Sounds Crucial Electro

Street Sounds ‎– ELCST 999
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Tyrone Brunson The Smurf
Written-By – O. Redding III*
A2 Warp 9 Light Years Away
Producer, Mixed By – John "Jellybean" Benitez, Lotti Golden, Richard ScherWritten-By – L. Golden*, R. Scher*
A3 Warp 9 Nunk (New Wave Funk)
Producer, Mixed By – John "Jellybean" Benitez, Lotti Golden, Richard ScherWritten-By – L. Golden*, R. Scher*
A4 Man Parrish Hip Hop Be Bop (Don't Stop)
Producer – Man Parrish, Raul A. RodriguezWritten-By – J. Robin*, M. Parrish*, R. A. Rodriguez*
A5 Herbie Hancock Rockit
Producer – Herbie Hancock, MaterialWritten-By – B. Laswell*, H. Hancock*, M. Beinhorn*
B1 Twilight 22 Electric Kingdom
Producer – Gordon BaharyWritten-By – E. Moore*, G. Bahary*, J. Saulter*
B2 Cybotron Clear
Producer – 3070, Juan*Written-By – 3070, J. Atkins*
B3 Hashim Al-Naafiysh (The Soul)
Producer, Mixed By – Aldo Marin, Jerry Calliste Jr.Written-By – Calliste Jr.*
B4 Captain Rock The Return Of Captain Rock
Producer, Arranged By – The Fantastic Aleems*Written-By – Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde, T. Aleem*, T. Aleem*
B5 Time Zone Wild Style
Producer – Afrika Bambaataa, Bernard ZekriRemix – Francois Kevorkian*, Paul "Groucho" Smvkle*Written-By – Afrika Bambaataa, Amed Henderson*, Rusty Egan

Companies, etc.



A4 writing credit 'J. Robin' on centre label is incorrect and should be shown as 'J. Robie'.
B5 writing credit 'Amed Henderson' on centre label is incorrect and should be shown as 'Amad Henderson'.
B5 remix credit 'Paul "Groucho" Smvkle' on centre label is incorrect and should be shown as 'Paul "Groucho" Smykle'.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A Side): ELCST 999 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (B Side): ELCST 999 B1
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ELCST 999 Various Street Sounds Crucial Electro(LP, Comp, Mixed) Street Sounds ELCST 999 UK 1984 Sell This Version
ZCELC 999 Various Street Sounds Crucial Electro(Cass, Comp, Mixed) Street Sounds ZCELC 999 UK 1984 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 10 Reviews

Add Review



March 11, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
This if you listen closely this is a live mix remixed . . ? Light years away...........


December 7, 2014

Looking for something new to buy went into HMV in 1984 and saw this cool thing for £4.49. Didn't know what the hell it was but always took a chance on new music. Fantastic - never looked back. Rockit's probably the worst track on it - and even that's pretty good, although I wouldn't really listen to it today. Apart from that classics pile up on top of classics with must-haves from Cybotron, Man Parrish, Warp 9 and Hashim. My all-time favourite is on here too - Wild Style.... an absolutely epic electro track with every trick in the book slam-dunked into the mix. If you like it it's worth getting the 12" as this has an even longer extended mix with an instrumntal that takes it into different places.
Essential comp for electro connoisseurs and casual listeners alike who're bound to find something they like here. Good party record.
After I got hold of this then it was all systems go to collect the set. They were coming out thick and fast during the mid - late 80s when Morgan Khan really had his finger on the pulse. If only he'd ditched the daft mag and some of his other projects and just concentrated on what he did best - compiling killer collections of hard to find and expensve import 12" singles.


December 7, 2004
edited over 9 years ago

This is by far my favourite 'Street Sounds Electro' release ever. Every track is a classic, and the mixing of tracks is seamless, smooth, and inspiring.

From Tyrone Brunson's - body-bopping, electro-funk classic, 'The Smurf', Warp 9's two great tracks of spacey funk, Man Parrish's - 'Hip Hop Be Bop'(which still sounds great today), and jazz-funk electro from Herbie Hancock.

You think that's enough sensory pleasure until you turn it over onto the flipside. Starting off with the Planet Rock inspired 'Electric Kingdom'. Twilight 22 were making Egyptian sounding electro before even Egyptian Lover was on the scene. Then perfectly blending into - arguably the first ever techno tune 'Clear by Cybotron' - brilliant, until the classic of all electro classics 'Al-Naafiysh' comes along and blows you away. Finishing off with 'The Return Of Captain Rock' which was a bit of an anthem with the breakers, and the legendary 'Wild Style' by Time Zone which was the 'electro/breakdance' tune of the time, and was produced by the non other Afrika Bambaataa, who incidentally performs on this too.

If one needed to hear a snapshot of the early eighties electro sound, 'Street Sounds Electro Crucial' would sum it up perfectly. True class!



November 20, 2004
edited over 15 years ago

The first side up till Rockit is sublime, one of the greatest mixes ever, humbling to hear such creativity matched with such preciseness, even more so when you realise that this was 1983. Side 2 features the all time classic Clear amongst other greats, Just Feel It!


March 1, 2003

The finest in the Electro series. "Hip Hop Be Bop" was THE defining track of the era for me. Incredible tune.

The Smurf, into Light Yearrrrrrrrrrrs, then Nunk, back into Light Years before slamming you headlong into HHBB. The only thing that bitters it for me personally is Rockit as the final track. Didn't like it then either.