Various ‎– Street Sounds Electro 8

Street Sounds ‎– ELCST 8
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Sparky D Vs. The Playgirls The Battle
Producer, Arranged By – Spyder "D"*Written-By – D. Broadnax*, D. Hughes*, R. Luck*
A2 Davy DMX The DMX Will Rock (Rap Mix)
Producer – David Reeves Jnr.*Written-By – D. Reeves Jnr.*
A3 Aleem Confusion
Written-By, Producer, Arranged By, Mixed By – T. Aleem*, T. Aleem*
A4 D.E.F. (4) Featuring D.J. Three D* D.E.F. Momentum
Producer – John J.R. Jackson, Louis "Three D" King*Written-By – Cedric "Chilli C" Scott*, Jazzy J.R. Jackson, L. King*
B1 Marley Marl Marley Marl Scratch
Featuring – MC ShanProducer, Arranged By, Mixed By – Marley MarlWritten-By – M. Williams*, S. Moltke*
B2 The B Boys* Girls
Producer, Arranged By – Vincent Davis (2)Written-By – D. Lamont*, F. Bailey, V. Davis*
B3 Papa Austin With The Great Peso Wrong Girls To Play With (Dub)
Producer – Chain 3, Master O.C.Written-By – Hodge/Rodriguez*
B4 N.Y.C. Cutter D.J. Cuttin
Producer, Mixed By – M.M.I.*Written-By – M. Williams*

Companies, etc.



℗ 1985 Street Sounds Compilation

A1: Licensed from NIA Records/℗ 1985 NIA Records
A2: Licensed from Tuff City Records/℗ 1985 Tuff City Records Group
A3: Licensed from NIA Records/℗ 1985 NIA Records Inc.
A4: Licensed from JDC Records/℗ 1985 Louis King

B1: Licensed from NIA Records/℗ 1985 NIA Records Inc.
B2: Licensed from Vintertainment Records/℗ 1985 Vintertainment Record Co.
B3: Licensed from Tuff City Records/℗ 1985 Tuff City Records Group
B4: Licensed from Pop Art Records/℗ 1985 Pop Art Records, Inc.

Track B3 writing credit for Hodge Rodriguez is incorrectly shown as 'Hodge/Rodriguez' making it look like 2 separate artists.

Pressed at MPO Averton

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side A): ELCST 8 A2 MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side B): ELCST 8 B1X MPO
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ELCST 8 Various Street Sounds Electro 8(LP, Comp, Mixed, Unofficial, W/Lbl) Street Sounds (3) ELCST 8 UK 1985 Sell This Version
ZCELC 8 Various Street Sounds Electro 8(Cass, Comp, Mixed) Street Sounds ZCELC 8 UK 1985 Sell This Version
CDELCST 8 Various Street Sounds Electro 8(CD, Unofficial) Street Sounds (3) CDELCST 8 UK 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 24, 2002

Prior to the UK being taken by absoloute storm by the Trax Recordings compilations showcasing the new 'acid' house music imported from the USA, Electro where THE records to have. Electro 8 was, sales wise, the most succesfull of the Electro series.
The tracks where fresh. The mixing impeccable and the style was raw. The hip hop grooves where always underlined with the asthetic funk - a deadly combination for any loudspeaker!
'Marley Scratch' and 'DMX Will Rock' are two celebrated hip hop masterpieces that have stood the test of time, and are representive of the street style that the Electro series represented.
Electro 8 in particular was the catalyst for all club records and introduced the DJ mix concept years before Ministry Of Sound laid claim.