Various ‎– Street Sounds Electro 9

Street Sounds ‎– ELCST 9
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Doug E. Fresh And The Get Fresh Crew The Show
Producer – Dennis Bell, Ollie CottonWritten-By – D. Davis*, R. Walters*
A2 Bad Boys Bad Boys
Featuring – K LoveProducer – Anthony Dick, David EngWritten-By – Bad Boys
A3 D.St. The Home Of Hip Hop
Producer – D.St.Written-By – D. Showard*, T. Johnson*
A4 Kid Frost Terminator
Producer – Dave Storrs*Written-By – Dave Storrs*, Kid Frost
B1 World Class Wreckin' Cru World Class
Producer – Lonzo, The Wreckin' Cru*Written-By – A. Young*, M. Hawkins*
B2 Mantronix Needle To The Groove
Producer – Mantronik*Written-By – Mantronik*, Toure T
B3 Fat Boys The Fat Boys Are Back
Producer – Kurtis BlowWritten-By – D. Wimbley*, D. Robinson*, K. Blow*, M. Morales*
B4 Rock Master Scott And The Dynamic Three The Roof Is On Fire
Producer, Arranged By, Mixed By – Jerry BloodrockWritten-By – C. Pettifold*, G. Wigfall*, R. Fowler*

Companies, etc.



℗ 1985 Street Sounds Compilation

A1: Licensed from Fantasy Records ℗1985 Reality Records
A2: Licensed from Starlite Records ℗1985 Starlite Records Inc.
A3: Licensed from Streetwave Records ℗1985 Celluloid Records
A4: Licensed from JDC Records ℗1985 Electrobeat

B1: Licensed from JDC Records ℗1985 Kru' Cut Records
B2: Licensed from Sleeping Bag Records ℗1985 Sleeping Bag Records
B3: Licensed from WEA Records ℗1985 Sutra Records Inc.
B4: Licensed from Reality Records ℗1985 Reality Records

B4 writing credit 'C. Pettiford' is incorrectly shown as 'C. Pettifold' on centre label.

Pressed at MPO Averton

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Centre label side A): ELCST 9 - A
  • Matrix / Runout (Centre label side B): ELCST 9 - B
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side A Variant 1): ELCST 9 A¹ MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side B Variant 1): ELCST 9 B¹ MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side A Variant 2): ELCST 9 A² MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side B Variant 2): ELCST 9 B² MPO
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ELCST 9 Various Street Sounds Electro 9(LP, Comp, Mixed, Unofficial, W/Lbl) Street Sounds (3) ELCST 9 UK 1985 Sell This Version
CDELCST 9 Various Street Sounds Electro 9(CDr, Comp, Mixed, Unofficial) Street Sounds (3) CDELCST 9 UK 2000 Sell This Version
ZCELC 9 Various Street Sounds Electro 9(Cass, Comp, Mixed) Street Sounds ZCELC 9 UK 1985 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



August 30, 2017
that was my first electro funk record. i have bought it 1985 when i was twelve years old.
I already had some tapes copies from a friend with tracks like "killer groove", but this record was
brandnew stuff for us all these days. The direction :robot voices and rap. 100% my thing!


May 14, 2010
well this is where it all started for myself back in 1982/1983 and have been collecting vinyl since .these where truley a great collection and myself have most off .does any one out there remember mike allen i think on saturday nights on capital radio if so does any one have any recordings if so please get in touch


July 15, 2007
edited over 13 years ago

Everyone has a favourite 'Electro' album and this one is mine.
At the time The Show was the biggest smash hip hop single ever (it seemed) and Doug and the crew were on Top Of The Pops! A great start to the album segueing into Bad Boys which is a great track utilising some old-school rhyme patterns.
D.St's Home Of Hip Hop is mixed in next (and edited) by Mastermind. This track was instrumental in teaching a few people I knew where hip hop began, least of all me.

Turn the tape over and we're into TWCWK's World Class with an absolutely fat acapella intro making way for the monstrous Oberheim DMX drum machine ("it's not an 808 or a Drumulator, it's a DMX cos it is greater!") with DJ Yella on the cut. I love the little extras that Mastermind does to this track, the scratches and edits and the way that Needle To The Groove comes in.
The Fat Boys is a mediocre effort compared to the rest of the LP but then Rockmaster Scott soon drops and you see that THIS is the way to end an album. We get to hear the ending of the song that Mike Allen always faded out whenever he played it on Capital Radio!


November 20, 2003
Another fantastic 'Electro' release. No. 9 starts strongly with The Show, a typically-fun Doug E Fresh cut. Skip forward ( figuratively speaking - it's on wax! ) to The Home of Hip Hop, D St of course referring to New York's Bronx. Few would argue. Up next, my favourite on the record,
Kid Frost's Terminator. Strong, solemn rap, coupled with evocative, futuristic synth. The essence of Electro. Next 2 tracks are mediocre, but Electro 9 ends on a high with a true hip-hop anthem, Tha-Roof-is-On-Fiyaaaah!!


April 18, 2002
This was the last of the good batch of electros from Steetsounds. Waiting for your birthday so you can go and buy a record from NSS, will never be the same.
I wonder if Kev Ginger still has his electro collection?