Various ‎– Studio One Roots

Soul Jazz Records ‎– SJR LP56
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Cyclones With Count Ossie Meditation
A2 Cornell Campbell W/ The Brentford Rockers* Natty Don't Go
Written-By – C. Campbell*
A3 Freddie McGregor W/ The Sound Dimension* Africa Here I Come
Written-By – F. McGregor*, J. Lara*
A4 Bunnie & Skitter Lumumbo
Written-By – Scorcher (2)
B1 Willie Williams* W/ The All Stars* Addis A Baba
Written-By – C. Dodd*, W. Williams*
B2 L Crosdale* W/ Drum Bago & The Rebel Group Set Me Free
Written-By – H. L. Crosdale*
B3 Leroy Wallace* W/ The New Establishment Far Beyond
Written-By – L. Wallace*, Scorcher (2)
B4 Lennie Hibbert More Creation
C1 Alton Ellis W/ The Sound Dimension* Blackish White
Written-By – A. Ellis*
C2 Winston Jarrett W/ The Sound Dimension* Fear Not
Written-By – C. Dodd*, W. Jarrett*
C3 Devon 'Soul' Russell* Drum Song
Written-By – C. Dodd*, D. Russell*
C4 The Gaylads Africa
Written-By – B.B. Seaton, W. Stewart*
D1 Black Brothers W/ The New Establishment School Children
Written-By – Black Brothers
D2 Linton Cooper W/ The Brentford Disco Set* You'll Get Your Pay
D3 Sound Dimension Congo Rock
D4 Zoot Simms African Challenge
Written-By – Z. Simms*

Companies, etc.



Recorded by Jamaica Recording Studio, 13, Brentford Road, Kingston, Jamaica

All recordings rights copyright C.S. Dodd, Jamrec Recordings
Photography courtesy of C.S. Dodd and Blues & Soul Magazine

Made in England

This compilation
P 2001 Soul Jazz Records Ltd.
C 2001 Soul Jazz Records Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 026328 000565
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching Runout A): SJR LP 56 A1 MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching Runout B): SJR LP 56 B1 MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching Runout C): SJR LP 56 C1 MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching Runout D): SJR LP 56 D1 MPO
  • Label Code: LC 2678

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SJR CD56 Various Studio One Roots(CD, Comp) Soul Jazz Records SJR CD56 UK 2001 Sell This Version
SJR LP56 Various Studio One Roots(2xLP, Comp, RP) Soul Jazz Records SJR LP56 UK 2014 Sell This Version
SJR CD56 Various Studio One Roots(CD, Comp) Soul Jazz Records SJR CD56 UK 2001 Sell This Version