Various ‎– Studio One Sound

Soul Jazz Records ‎– SJR CD256
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Slim Smith Hip Hug
Written-By – Slim Smith
2 Ras Michael And The Sons Of Negus* Good People
Written-By – Michael Henry*
3 Lord Tanamo Keep On Moving
Written-By – Joe Gordon*
4 Wailing Souls Trouble Maker
Written-By – Lloyd McDonald*, Winston Matthews*
5 Rita Marley Call To Me
Written-By – Clement Dodd*, Rita Marley
6 Johnny Osbourne All I Have Is Love
Written-By – Johnny Osborne*
7 The Martinis (2) I Second That Emotion
Written-By – Cleveland*, Robinson*
8 Irvin Brown Run Come
Written-By – Irvin Brown
9 The Heptones Give Give Love
Written-By – Leroy Sibbles
10 Anthony 'Rocky' Ellis* Double Minded Man
Written-By – Anthony Ellis*
11 Jackie Opel The Lord Is With Me 2:42
12 Dub Specialist Happy Feelings
Written-By – Clement Dodd*
13 Prince Lincoln* Live Up Your Name 3:57
14 Ken Boothe I Am A Fool
Saxophone [Scorching Saxophone Solo At The End Of The Track Is Provided By] – Roland AlphonsoWritten-By – Ken Boothe
15 Reuben Alexander* Happy Valley
Written-By – Winston Rodney
16 Larry Marshall There's A Fire
Written-By – Larry Marshall
17 Roland Alphonso Rolando Special
Written-By – Clement Dodd*, Roland Alphonso
18 Freddie McGregor Homeward Bound
Written-By – Freddie McGregor

Companies, etc.



Track 18 is not mentionned on back cover, but appears in booklet and in the tracklist under the disc.

This compilation: ℗2012 by Jamaica Recording and Publishing Studio Limited, t/a Studio One under exclusive licence to Soul Jazz Records.

This compilation:
© Soul Jazz Records 2012

C&P Soul Jazz Records (on disc)

Track 1: 1967, also known as "Hip Hug Girl", originally released on thrare Uptown label in Jamaica and on the Coxsone label in the UK.
Track 2: 1979, only Studio One production to be released by the group
Track 3: 1970, also known as "Moving In And Out", recorded over a Jackie Mittoo instrumental titled "Totally Together", originally released on a Studio One label in Jamaica, and on the Banana label in the UK.
Track 4: c.1971, originally included on "Soul & Power" album (1983).
Track 5: 1966, originally issued in Jamaica on a Studio One blank label, in the UK on Island (with title given as "Come To Me") and Coxsone (wrongly credited to Marcia Griffiths).
Track 6: 1969
Track 7: 1968, a cover of Smokey Robinson, originally released in Jamaica on a Studio One label, and on the Coxsone label in the UK.
Track 8: 1971, originally released on a Studio One label in Jamaica, foundation rhythm for Johnny Osbourne's "Eternal Peace" (from the "Truths and Rights" LP).
Track 9: 1971, originally released on the "Freedom Line" LP (rhythm would later be used as the basis for Sugar Minott's Give A Hand")
Track 10: 1977
Track 11: 1964, originally issued on a Rolando & Powie label in Jamaica, on Ska Beat in the UK.
Track 12: c.1972, originally released on the "Ital Sounds & System Dub" LP.
Track 13: 1972, originally released in Jamaica on the Bongo Man label.
Track 14: 1966, originally issued in Jamaica on the Supreme label.
Track 15: c.1973, released in Jamaica on a Studio One label, instrument version of the "He Prayed" rhythm originally recorded by Burning Spear.
Track 16: c.1970, originally included on the "Reggaematic Sounds" LP (released on the Bamboo label in the UK in 1970) credited to the Freedom Singers.
Track 17: 1967, originally released on later pressings of the "Soul Vendors On Tour" LP wrongly listed as "Just A Bit O' Soul".
Track 18: 1979, released as a single in Jamaica on a Studio One label.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5026328002569
  • Label Code: LC 2678
  • Matrix / Runout: 020 8691 2121 SJRCD256
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LP76
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5H42

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All