Various ‎– Subterranean Modern

Ralph Records ‎– SM7908
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Chrome (8) Anti-Fade
Written-By – Edge*, Creed*
A2 Chrome (8) I Left My Heart In San Francisco 0:27
A3 Chrome (8) Meet You In The Subway
Written-By – Edge*, Creed*
A4 MX-80 Sound Lady In Pain
Written-By – Anderson*, Stim*
A5 MX-80 Sound I Left My Heart In San Francisco 1:52
A6 MX-80 Sound Possessed
Written-By – Anderson*, Stim*
B1 The Residents I Left My Heart In San Francisco 2:02
B2 The Residents Dumbo, The Clown (Who Loved Christmas)
Guitar [Soloist] – Fred Frith
B3 The Residents Is He Really Bringing Roses? (The Replacement) 2:34
B4 The Residents Time's Up
Guitar [Soloist] – Fred Frith
B5 Tuxedomoon I Left My Heart In San Francisco
Concept By [Treatment Concept] – B. Reininger*Performer [Execution] – B. Reininger*, S. Brown*
B6 Tuxedomoon Everything You Want
Guitar – M. Belfer*Guitar, Percussion [Electronic Percussion] – B. Reininger*Vocals, Keyboards – S. Brown*Written-By – Brown*
B7 Tuxedomoon Waterfront Seat
Bass Guitar – P. Carcinogenic*Guitar – M. Belfer*Percussion [Electronic Percussion], Keyboards [Polymoog] – B. Reininger*Soprano Saxophone [Soprano Sax], Saxophone [Trumpet Sax] – S. Brown*Written-By – Belfer*

Companies, etc.



Reissue from 1983 which has yellow "Subterranean" writing on front cover (and green on back cover). Also many other colour details on cover are altered. Labels on disc are blue.
This second edition is distinguished by a small black and white box of text printed on the front cover: "Featuring The Residents - Chrome - MX-80 Sound - Tuxedomoon - Playing Music Especially Recorded For This Album!".
Limited edition of 2,500 copies.
Rozz Tox logo appears on the back sleeve.

"Subterranean Modern was Ralph Records' first album involving music from anyone other than The Residents or Snakefinger. The idea was to widen Ralph's appeal by bringing a greater variety of styles into the label. To this end Ralph had four band submit contributions on the theme of "San Francisco". Each was required to include a version of <a href="/artist/Tony+Bennett">Tony Bennett</a>'s I Left My Heart In San Francisco. The four bands chosen were The Residents (of course), Chrome, Tuxedomoon, and MX-80 Sound..." (notes from The Residents website)

A1 to A3 - All titles published by Chrome Music (ASCAP), except In San Francisco/ Chrome licensed through Siren Records
A4 to A6 - Recorded at John Altmann Recording (SF)/ Mixed at House of Music (NY)
B1 to B4 - All titles published by Pale Pachyderm Publishing (BMI), except In San Francisco
B5 to B7 - All titles published by Angst Music (BMI), except In San Francisco
I Left My Heart In San Francisco published by General Music Publishing Co., Inc (ASCAP)

Titles A2, A5, B1 and B5 appear on the labels as "In San Francisco".

[Rear sleeve]
©1979, The Cryptic Corporation/Manufactured by Ralph Records/SM7908

Side A: © ℗1979 The Cryptic Corp. SM7908-DOZ
Side B: © ℗1979 The Cryptic Corp. SM7908-12

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): SM-7908-DOZ ALSHIRE
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): SM-7908-12 ALSHIRE
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): SM7908-DOZ
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side B): SM7908-12

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SM7908 Various Subterranean Modern(LP, Album, Comp) Ralph Records SM7908 US 1979 Sell This Version
SM7908 Various Subterranean Modern(LP, Album, Comp, RP) Ralph Records SM7908 US 1980 Sell This Version
SM 7908 Various Subterranean Modern (LP, Album, Comp, TP) Ralph Records SM 7908 US 1979 Sell This Version
SM7908 Various Subterranean Modern(LP, Album, Comp) Ralph Records SM7908 US Unknown Sell This Version