Various ‎– Sugar Hill Records: The 40th Anniversary Boxed Set

Rhino Entertainment Company ‎– R1 585207
6 × Vinyl, LP, 45 RPM
Box Set, Compilation


A1 The Furious Five Step Off 7:09
B1 The Sequence Funk You Up 10:48
C1 Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five The Message 7:11
D1 Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five It's Nasty (Genius Of Love) 7:39
E1 Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five New York New York 7:19
E2 Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five Beat Street 6:58
F1 Funky 4 + 1 That's The Joint 9:05
G1 Positive Force We Got The Funk 7:18
G2 Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel White Lines 4:28
H1 Sugarhill Gang Rapper's Delight 15:00
I1 Spoonie Gee Monster Jam 7:19
I2 Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five Pump Me Up 4:51
J1 Sugarhill Gang 8th Wonder 7:21
J2 Grandmaster Flash The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels Of Steel 7:07
K1 West Street Mob Break Dance - Electric Boogie 5:02
K2 Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five Scorpio 4:56
L1 Sugarhill Gang Apache 6:09
L2 Melle Mel Message II 4:28


Celebrating 40 Years of Sugar Hill Records
6 LP Set featuring Rapper's Delight
The Message
& Many More Iconic Hits
Includes an Exclusive Downloadable DJ Mix for you to join in on the fun
The 40TH Anniversary Boxed Set

Timings are accurate except H1 at 14:30, I1 at 8:45 & L2 at 6:31

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Box Text): 603497854141



Add Review



June 17, 2019

Overall this is a great compilation. All sides revolves at 45 rpm even those with two songs.
On some songs there are more clicks and pops than some others. I don’t know if it’s beacause of the pressing or the master they used. (I doubt the second option).
The worst sounding track is surely Rapper’s Delight. If you’re getting this boxset for this song in particular you would be better buying an original pressing of the 12’’ release.
Almost all track are the full length versions, except for White Lines witch is the single version.
Actual duration times slightly differs from the infos provided.