Various ‎– Super Bad

K-Tel ‎– NE 499
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Joe Simon Step By Step
Producer – Raeford Gerald
A2 The Isley Brothers That Lady
A3 Robert Knight Love On A Mountain Top
A4 Sly & The Family Stone If You Want Me To Stay
A5 Millie Jackson It Hurts So Good
A6 Don Downing Lonely Days Lonely Nights
A7 Pointer Sisters Yes We Can Can
Producer – David Rubinson
A8 New York City I'm Doin' Fine Now
Producer – Thom Bell
A9 The Three Degrees Dirty Ol' Man
Producer – Bobby Martin
A10 Ronnie Dyson When You Get Right Down To It
A11 The O'Jays Back Stabbers
Producer – Gamble & Huff
A12 Barry White I'm Gonna Love You Just A Little More Baby
B1 Four Tops & The Supremes Reach Out And Touch (Somebody's Hand)
B2 Billy Preston Will It Go Round In Circles
B3 Marvin Gaye What's Going On
B4 Stevie Wonder Superwoman
B5 Cymande The Message
B6 Timmy Thomas Why Can't We Live Together?
B7 Aretha Franklin Mocking Bird
B8 The Intruders I'll Always Love My Mama
Producer – Gamble & Huff
B9 Brenda & The Tabulations One Girl Too Late
B10 Harold Melvin And The Blue Notes If You Don't Know Me By Now
Producer – Gamble & Huff
B11 Gladys Knight And The Pips Midnight Train To Georgia
B12 Curtis Mayfield Move On Up

Companies, etc.


'24 Original Hits, 24 Original stars.'

The US version of Super Bad with similar artwork features only 20 tracks and a completely different track list.
Printed and made in UK.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): NE 499 A3M
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): NE 499-B3-M

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
NE 499 Various Super Bad(LP, Comp, Ltd) K-Tel NE 499 UK 1974 Sell This Version
CSPS 728, NC 415 Various Super Bad(LP, Comp, Ltd) K-Tel, K-Tel CSPS 728, NC 415 Canada 1974 Sell This Version
T8T-559 Various Super Bad(8-Trk, Comp) K-Tel T8T-559 UK 1974 Sell This Version
NC-415-8 Various Super Bad(8-Trk, Comp) K-Tel NC-415-8 Canada Unknown Sell This Version
NE 499 Various Super Bad(LP, Comp, Ltd) K-Tel NE 499 US 1973 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 16 Reviews

Add Review



December 28, 2019
B6 Why can't we live together by Timmy Thomas also ended up on the Australian Majestic/K-tel Compilation album called Rock Explosion


December 28, 2019
A12 I'm Gonna Love You Just A Little More Baby by Barry White ended up on Majestic/K-tel Australian issue called Rock Explosion


December 24, 2019
K-Tel(as Majestic) in Australia realised that in order to put 24 songs on an LP(12 per side) was going to involve some severe editing. So K-Tel(Majestic) cut back to 20 tracks(10 per side) in order to get more songs in a side appearing in their complete form, or as many as possible. Later K-Tel LPs here would reduce the number of tracks back to 8 or 9 a side, Dropping the "20(insert name here) Hits" titles freed K-Tel up to issue albums with less tracks, so that the tracks could be included unedited. "Less is more!"


December 23, 2019
edited 10 months ago
this was issued in Australia with entirely different track listing with 20 tracks rather 24 that practise stopped in country in 1969


April 9, 2019
All of these are from 1974, but my copy says 73; its NU-427, which isn't an option. How come it isn't on here


May 1, 2016
edited over 4 years ago
This album was produced in an era when records were extremely expensive. Some of the tracks on this were quite hard to find - Timmy Thomas, Cymande for instance. I actually remember this album being advertised on the tv at the time and a couple of days later some of the cool kids were carrying it around at school.

K-Tel wanted to give value for money but it was a kind of law of diminishing returns ... it looked good on paper (and on the tv) but when you got hold of the thing it turned out not to be quite as good as it seemed. K-Tel had to pay for all those adverts somehow... and groove-cramming was the way forward. The sound quality is pretty dire and many of the tracks are curtailed before their time. Most teenagers couldn't tell the difference back then anyway.

This was an era when multi-artist chart hit compilations were mainly of the non-original artists, soundalike variety and pitched just less than a quid (Hot Hits, Top Of the Pops etc... way, way before NTWICM). This album probably came in at £1.50, something like that, but as it was all original artists represented good value at the time.
Wouldn't give it house room now though.... it's a '70s thing.


September 13, 2015
my copies are totally fine - great comp with some superb soul music


June 16, 2011
There are a couple of problems with this offering from the budget compilation label K-Tel. How can this be? There's some brilliant soul and funk tunes on here sure enough, and some interesting not so well known tunes alongside the classics, but this is an awful lot of tracks for one slab of vinyl. In order to squeeze the tunes on every one has been dramatically cut short, which kind of defeats the point as far as funk is concerned. Mammoth jams such as Superwoman and the fantastic Yes we Can Can by The Pointer Sisters are reduced to 2 minute snippits which seem to consistently fade out just as they start to get going. Aretha's Mocking Bird is admittedly a short tune anyway but weighs in here at a pointless one minute thirty.
There's another problem too. On my copy side one plays fine; but on side two the pressing isn't central causing the tracks to have a wobbly quality which of course spoils your listening experience considerably.
It's such a shame that this wasn't done better, perhaps by spreading the tracks over two discs or just by not having as many tracks, but maybe this was a teaser to encourage listeners to buy the albums that the songs were lifted from! One good thing it has done is brought a funk amateur like myself to some brilliant tunes such as Sly's If You Want Me to Stay and Millie Jackson's Hurt So Good, so I guess I should be grateful...