Various ‎– Texas Blues Volume 1

P-Vine Records ‎– PCD-2519, Arhoolie Records ‎– R 2006
CD, Compilation


1 Lil' Son Jackson Gambling Blues
2 Lil' Son Jackson Homeless Blues
3 Lee Hunter (2) Back To Santa Fe
4 L.C. Williams Strike Blues
5 Leroy Ervin Blue, Black, And Evil
6 Leroy Ervin Rock Island Blues
7 Lightning Hopkins* Grievance Blues
8 L.C. Williams You Never Miss The Water
9 Thunder Smith* Santa Fe Blues
10 Thunder Smith* Big Stars Are Falling
11 Lightning Hopkins* Big Mama Jump
12 L.C. Williams I Wonder
13 Lightning Hopkins* Death Bells
14 L.C. Williams I Won't Be Here Long
15 Manny Nichols Long Skinny Mama
16 Mance Lipscomb You Don't Mean Me No Good
17 Black Ace Beer Drinking Woman
18 Rattlesnake Cooper I'm Leaving Town
19 Mercy Dee Walton Ebony Baby
20 Billy Bizor Tom Moore
21 Alex Moore Chock House Boogie
22 Smokey Hogg Hello Baby
23 Robert Shaw (5) The Fives
24 Lightnin' Hopkins Hurricanes Carla & Esther
25 Mercy Dee Walton 8th Wonder Of The World

Companies, etc.



Classic country blues recorded in Houston, Texas and originally issued between 1948 and 1952 on Gold Star (2) 78 rpm singles.

Reissue with Box 9195, Berkeley, Ca. 94709 address on back.