Various ‎– The Brave Ploughboy - Songs and Stories In A Sussex Pub

XTRA ‎– XTRS 1150
Vinyl, LP, Stereo, comes with booklet of notes and texts


A1 Cyril Phillips The Sussex Molecatcher 3:50
A2 Bob Lewis (7) (a) The Last Doorkey (b) Ale Ale Glorious Ale 4:25
A3 Bob Blake (a) Courting With A Light (b) Old John Braddlem 2:35
A4 The Coppers* Two Young Brethren 4:30
A5 George Belton Jim The Carter Lad 3:55
A6 George Spicer (a) The Triplets (b) Down In The Field Where The Buttercups All Grow 7:11
B1 The Coppers* The Brisk Young Ploughboy 3:12
B2 George Belton All Jolly Fellows That Follow The Plough 3:36
B3 Bob Blake The Basket Of Eggs 4:26
B4 Bob Lewis (7) (a) The Lost Sheep (b) John Barleycorn 5:26
B5 Cyril Phillips The Lakes Of Coolfin 3:37
B6 George Spicer The Barley Mow 4:18
B7 George Belton The Sussex Toast 3:53



Recorded in May 1974 at the Lewes Arms, Mount Place, Lewes, Sussex on Ampex 460 tape using a Teac 4 track recorder at 7 and a half i.p.s. and two crossed pairs of Unisound microphones. With thanks to Richard Harvey of Gryphon for the loan of the machine, and to Vic Smith for letting us into his club. Thanks also to the management and staff of the George Hotel, Crawley, Sussex.