Various ‎– The Disc Of Music & Nature

Wesleyan University Press ‎– ISBN 0-8195-6408-7, Terra Nova ‎– none
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 No Artist Dawn Solo From Pied Butcherbirds Of Spirey Creek
Recorded By – David Lumsdaine (2)
2 Ulahi Making Sago
Recorded By – Steven Feld
3 Ram Saran Nepali The Butterflies Of Jumla
Mixed By – Jan Erik KongshaugRecorded By – Hans Weisethaunet
4 Pierre Schaeffer The Concert Of Noises (Excerpt)
Piano [Improvisations] – J. J. Grunewald*
5 Hildegard Westerkamp Beneath The Forest Floor (Excerpt) 6:49
6 Brian Eno Ikebukoro/Madrid/4 5:56
7 BaBenzélé Pygmies Women Gathering Mushrooms
Recorded By – Bernie Krause, Louis Sarno
8 Alan Hohvaness* And God Created Great Whales (Excerpt)
Conductor – Gerard SchwarzOrchestra – Seattle Symphony*
9 Anatoli Kuular Borbangnadyr: Overtone Song And Rushing Stream
Recorded By – Joel Gordon, Ted Levin
10 Lucky People Center In The Wilderness 4:56
11 Richard Lerman Sonora
Clarinet – David RothenbergRecorded By [Piezoelectric Sonoran Desert Field Recordings] – Richard Lerman
12 Francisco López La Selva (Excerpt) 4:18
13 Toru Takemitsu Visions, Part 1: Mystère 5:46
14 Douglas Quin and David Rothenberg Toothwalking 5:12
15 Pauline Oliveros Poem For Change (Excerpt) 4:11

Companies, etc.



Included with the 262-page book "The Book Of Music & Nature" which was edited by David Rothenberg and Marta Ulvaeus and includes writing by Hazrat Inayat Khan, Rainer Maria Rilke, John Cage, Tim Hodgkinson, Evan Eisenberg, R. Murray Schafer, Tsai Chih Chung, Rafi Zabor, Steve Lacy, Russell Sherman, Jason Lanier, David Dunn, David James Duncan, Michael Ondaatje, Steve Erickson, Claude Schryer, Pauline Oliveros, Brian Eno, Hildegard Westerkamp, Douglas Quin, Francisco López, David Toop, Robert Schneider, John Luther Adams, Toru Takemitsu, Steven Feld, Eric Salzman, Bernie Krause, and Junichiro Tanizaki.

Track 1 from David Lumsdaine (2) - Pied Butcherbirds Of Spirey Creek - Mutawinji
Track 2 from Kaluli - Voices Of The Rainforest, Used courtesy of 360° Productions, Sebastopol, CA.
Track 3 from "The Real Folk Music of Nepal" (© 1997 Traveling Records). Used by permission.
Track 4 from Pierre Schaeffer - L'Œuvre Musicale. Courtesy of Jacqueline Schaeffer.
Track 5 from Hildegard Westerkamp - Transformations
Track 6 © Upala Music (BMI). Courtesy of Opal Ltd.
Track 7 from The Babenzélé Pygmies* & Louis Sarno - Bayaka - The Extraordinary Music Of The Babenzélé Pygmies
Track 8 from Alan Hovhaness, Seattle Symphony*, Gerard Schwarz - Mysterious Mountain / And God Created Great Whales
Track 9 from Various - Tuva, Among The Spirits - Sound, Music And Nature In Sakha And Tuva
Track 10 from the film "Lucky People Center International" (Stockholm, Memfis Films 1997). Courtesy of Lucky People Center and Stockholm Records/Stockholm Songs.
Track 11 © 1998 Richard Lerman
Track 12 from Francisco López - La Selva © 1997 Francisco López.
Track 13 from "Takemitsu: Visions" (Denon CO-79441). Courtesy of European American Distribution Corporation, Schott Japan.
Track 14 © Mysterious Mountain Music (BMI)
Track 15 from the CD that accompanies the book "Roots of the Moment" (New York: Drogue Press, 1998) © 1998 Deep Listening Foundation.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 9 780819 564085 90000