Various ‎– The ESP Sampler

ESP Disk ‎– ESP 1051
Vinyl, LP, Album, Sampler, Stereo, Mono, Black And White Cover

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Pearls Before Swine Untitled
Performer – Lane Lederer, Roger Crissinger, Tom Rapp, Wayne Harley
A2 Pharaoh Sanders Quintet* Untitled
Bass – William Bennett (2)Percussion – Marvin PattilloPiano – Jane GetzSaxophone – Pharoah SandersTrumpet – Stan Foster (2)
A3 Noah Howard Quartet Untitled
Bass – Scotty HoltPercussion – Dave Grant (13)Saxophone – Noah HowardTrumpet – Ric Colbeck
A4 Milford Graves With Sunny Morgan* Untitled
Drums, Bells – Sunny MorganDrums, Bells, Gong, Shaker – Milford Graves
A5 Albert Ayler Untitled
Bass – Gary PeacockPercussion – Sunny MurraySaxophone – Albert Ayler
A6 Corso*, Ferlinghetti*, Voznesensky* , And Unknown Artist Untitled
Voice – Gregory Corso, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Andrei Voznesensky*
A7 Henry Grimes Trio Untitled
Bass – Henry GrimesClarinet – Perry RobinsonDrums – Tom Price
A8 Burton Greene Quartet Untitled
Alto Saxophone – Marion BrownBass – Henry GrimesDrums – Dave Grant (13), Tom PricePiano – Burton GreeneTenor Saxophone – Frank Smith (9)
A9 Sunny Murray Untitled
Bass – Al Silva*Percussion – Sunny MurraySaxophone – Byard Lancaster, Jack GrahamTrumpet – Jacques Coursil
A10 Bob James Trio Untitled
Bass – Barre PhillipsPercussion – Robert PozarPiano – Bob James
A11 Marion Brown Quartet Untitled
Alto Saxophone – Marion BrownBass – Reggie Johnson, Ronnie BoykinsDrums – Rashied AliPiano – Stan Cowell*Tenor Saxophone – Bennie MaupinTrumpet – Alan Shorter
A12 Patty Waters Untitled
Bass – Steven Tintweiss*Drums – Tom PricePiano – Burton GreenePiano, Vocals, Composed By – Patty Waters
A13 New York Art Quartet Untitled
Bass – Lewis WorrellPercussion – Milford GravesSaxophone – John TchicaiTrombone – Roswell Rudd
A14 The Fugs Untitled
Backing Band – Peter Stampfel, Steve WeberSupervised By – Harry Smith
A15 Frank Wright Trio Untitled
Bass – Henry GrimesDrums – Tom PriceTenor Saxophone – Frank Wright
A16 Sun Ra Untitled
Orchestra – Sun Ra And His Solar Arkestra*
A17 Ornette Coleman Untitled
Bass – David Izenzohn*Percussion – Charles MoffettSaxophone – Ornette Coleman
A18 Alan Sondheim Untitled
Bass – Chris Matteson*Cornet, Trumpet – Robert PoholekDrums – J.P.*Tabla, Bongos – Barry SugarmanVocals – Ruth Ann HutchinsonXylophone, Alto Saxophone, Guitar, Electric Guitar, Classical Guitar, Lap Steel Guitar [Hawaiian Guitar], English Horn, Bansuri, Koto, Clarinet, Suling – Alan Sondheim
A19 Giuseppi Logan Quartet* Untitled
Bass – Eddie GomezDrums – Milford GravesPiano – Don PullenTenor Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Oboe – Giuseppi Logan
A20 William Burroughs* Untitled
Voice – William Burroughs*
A21 The Fugs Untitled
Backing Band – Peter Stampfel, Steven WeberSupervised By – Harry Smith
B1 Bud Powell Untitled
Bass – Pierre MichelotDrums – Kenny ClarkePiano – Bud Powell
B2 Randy Burns (2) Untitled
Twelve-String Guitar – Emery FletcherVocals, Guitar – Randy Burns (2)
B3 Gato Barbieri Untitled
Bass – Norris JonesCello – Calo ScottPercussion – Bobby KappSaxophone – Gato Barbieri
B4 James Zitro Untitled
Alto Saxophone – Allan PraskinBass – Bruce CaleDrums – James ZitroPiano – Michael Cohen*Tenor Saxophone – Bert WilsonTrumpet – Warren Gale
B5 Burton Greene Quartet Untitled
Alto Saxophone – Marion BrownBass – Henry GrimesDrums – Dave Grant (13), Tom PricePiano – Burton Greene
B6 Byron Allen Trio* Untitled
Bass – Maceo GilchristDrums – Ted Robinson (3)Saxophone – Byron Allen
B7 The Godz Untitled
Performer – Jay Dillon, Jim McCarthy, Larry Kessler, Paul Thornton
B8 Various Untitled
Performer – Anita Dangler, Genji Ito, Leonard Frey, Peter Barry*, Sheila Roy, Teiji Ito, Van DexterProducer – Jean Erdman
B9 Gunter Hampel Untitled
Bass – Piet Veening*Percussion – Pierre CourboisSaxophone – Wim Breuker*Vibraphone, Producer – Gunter Hampel
B10 Ishmael Reed Untitled
Voice – Ishmael Reed
B11 Sonny Simmons Untitled
Bass – Teddy SmithComposed By, Saxophone – Sonny SimmonsPercussion – Marvin PattilloPiano – John HicksTrumpet – Barbara Donald
B12 The Godz Untitled
Drums, Vocals – Paul ThorntonGuitar, Viola, Vocals – Larry KesslerGuitar, Vocals – Jim McCarthyOrgan, Piano, Autoharp – Jay Dillon
B13 Steve Lacy Untitled
Bass – Johnny DyaniComposed By, Soprano Saxophone – Steve LacyDrums – Louis T. Moholo*Trumpet – Enrico Rava
B14 Allen Ginsberg Untitled
Voice – Allen Ginsberg
B15 Karl Berger Untitled
Alto Saxophone – Carlos WardBass – Henry GrimesDrums – Edward Blackwell*Vibraphone – Karl Berger
B16 Andrei Voznesensky* Untitled
Voice – Andrei Voznesensky*
B17 New York Art Quartet Untitled
Bass – Lewis WorrellPercussion – Milford GravesSaxophone – John TchicaiTrombone – Roswell Rudd
B18 Movement Soul (2) Untitled
B19 Paul Bley Untitled
Bass – Steve SwallowPercussion – Barry AltschulPiano – Paul Bley
B20 Charles Tyler Ensemble Untitled
Bass – Henry GrimesCello – Joel FreedmanPercussion – Ronald Jackson*Saxophone – Charles TylerVibraphone – Charles Moffett
B21 Ni Kantu En Esperanto Untitled


Also released with a blue and red cover: Various - The ESP Sampler, and with a black and red cover: Various - The ESP Sampler.
Some tracks are in stereo, others in mono.

Includes a printed inner sleeve and 24 page booklet w/order form.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Etched, Side A runout): ESPS 1051 A BOWD SCP-1 [DBH inside box]
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched, Side B runout): ESPS(C) 1051B 1X1089 DRT-5 [DBH inside box]

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ESP 1051 Various The ESP Sampler(LP, Mono, Smplr, Blu) ESP Disk ESP 1051 US 1967 Sell This Version
1051 Various The ESP Sampler(LP, Smplr, Bla) ESP Disk 1051 US 1967 Sell This Version